Skip to content

Contact Us

______________

Office Hours: 

  • School year: Monday - Friday, 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
    • Jamee and Shanna work 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM
    • Thea and Alan work 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM
  • Summer: Monday - Friday, 8:30 AM to 4:00 PM

 

Remote Days:

Please note that staff work remotely 1 day a week. On those days, they will be reachable via email during office hours. 

Remote Work Days

  • Thea - M
  • Sean - M
  • Shanna - T
  • Alan - W
  • Jamee - F

Campus Location:

Frederick Albert Sutton Building

115 S 1460 E, Room 383
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-0102 

 

Phone:

(801) 581-7062

 

Email:

To ensure that your inquiry is addressed in a timely manner please send your correspondence to one of the following:

 

 

Department Administration - Room 383 FASB

 

 

    Dr. William (Bill) Johnson

         Chair

         william.johnson@utah.edu

          Admin Office: 801-585-6656

          Faculty Office: 801-581-5033

 

Tonie VanDam   Dr. Tonie van Dam

      Associate Chair

      tonie.vandam@utah.edu

      801-581-7266

 

 

 


Geology & Geophysics Office Staff

Main office: (801) 581-7062

staff photo

Administrative Manager &

Graduate Student Advisor

Shanna Futral

(801) 581-7162

shanna.futral@utah.edu

Responsibilities: Office Management; Employee Onboarding & Offboarding; Assistant to the Chair; Faculty Relations & Appointments; Graduate Student Advising; Department Events (minus DLS)


Payroll & Payables Coordinator

Thea Hatfield

(801) 585-6768

thea.hatfield@utah.edu 

Responsibilities: Human Resources, Insurance, Tuition Benefit, Scholarship Administration, TAs/RAs/GAs, Post Docs, Payroll, Accounts Payable, EPRs/Electonic Payment Requests, Lab and Office Purchasing, Key Requests, Course Scheduling (CLSS) and Catalogue (KUALI) admininstrative support, Course Evaluation Set up, Course Permission Codes, Course Fees with Accountant), Room Reservations (ASTRA), Department Curriculum Committee Secretary


Undergraduate Student Advisor 

Sean Meyer

(801) 587-0648

sean.t.meyer@utah.edu 

FASB 104 Student Epicenter

Responsibilities: Undergrad Advising, Student Recruitment and Outreach, Student Orientation, ABET Assistance, Department Undergrad Student Committee Secretary


Accountant

Jamee Lefler

(801) 585-6652

jamee.lefler@utah.edu 

Responsibilities: Account Management (Set-up, Reconciliation, and Review), Recharge Centers Accounting & Billing, eJournals, P-Cards, Billing, ePARs, Department Budget, Approval Management, E-award Management, Course Fees, Annual Faculty Review Data Management, Scholarships, Curriculum Support, Dept Swag/Merchandise Inventory Management, Department Diversity Committee Secretary


Department Travel Facilitator &

DLS Speaker Series Coordinator

Alan Rigby

(801) 585-5461

alan.rigby@utah.edu

Responsibilities: Department Travel Facilitator (including Guest, Undergrad, and Group trips), Event Logistics Assistance, Distinguished Lecture Series, Catering Orders, Alumni Event Logistics, Outreach Assistance, Rock Identification & Sample Requests; Department Outreach Committee Secretary

Research Manager

Wil Mace

(801) 860-0383

 wil.mace@utah.edu

Responsibilities: Safety, Lab Management, Department Vehicle Rentals and Maintenance, Sutton Building Facilities Coordinator, and Building Access,  Department Safety & Research Committee


Student Office Assistants

Kayleigh Kirkpatrick

(801) 585-7431

kayleigh.kirkpatrick@utah.edu

Responsibilities:  Graphic Design, Commuication Assistance, DLS Meet and Greet Assistance, Open House Assistance, Other Events Assistance, Mail & Packages, Locker Rentals, Supplies Management, Dept Swag/Merchandise Assistance, Alumni/Outreach Assistance (including ForeverU), other duites as assigned

 

Faith Chand

(801) 585-7431

u1259839@utah.edu

Responsibilities: Distinguished Lecture Series (marketing), Mail & Packages, Social Media (Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, Youtube, TikTok), Website & Intranet, Bulletin Boards, Mail & Packages, other duites as assigned

   Academic Faculty

(updated Spring 2022)

lauren

Dr. Lauren Birgenheier

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-3158

lauren.birgenheier@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Sedimentology

Stratigraphy

Petroleum Geology

Unconventional Resources

Paleoclimate

Website

Dr. B

Dr. Brenda Bowen

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building  (FASB)

801-585-5326

brenda.bowen@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Global Change and Sustainability

Fluid-Sediment Interactions

Surface Processes in Extreme Environments

Sedimentary Geochemistry

CO2 Sequestration

 Dr. B 

Dr. Gabe Bowen

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-7925

gabe.bowen@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Isotope Geochemistry

Paleoclimate

Carbon Cycle

Water Cycle

Forensic Ecology

Website

Dr. B

Dr. Paul Brooks

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-2858

paul.brooks@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Hydrology

Biogeochemistry

Snow

Climate

Water Resources

Hydrochemistry

Dr. B

Dr. Thure Cerling

Distinguished Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-5558

thure.cerling@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Environmental Geochemistry

Mammal Physiology

Isotope Geochemistry

Isotope Ecology

Website

 

 Dr. C

Dr. Marjorie Chan

Distinguished Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-6551

marjorie.chan@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Sedimentary Geology

Website

 

Dr. Sarah Crump

Please reach out to shanna.futral@utah.edu 

 

 

Dr. Juan Carlos de Obeso

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

juancarlos.deobeso@utah.edu 

Research Interests:

Serpentinization

Carbonation

Fluid-rock interactions

Geochemistry

Website

Dr I

Dr. Randall Irmis

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Natural History Museum of Utah (NHMU)

801-581-6555/801-585-0561

irmis@umnh.utah.edu 

Research Interests:

Continental Vertebrate Ecosystems

Paleoecology and Taphonomic Processes

Dr J

Dr. Paul Jewell

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-6636

paul.jewell@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Surface Processes

Hydrology

Website

Dr J

Dr. Cari Johnson

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-3782

cari.johnson@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Basin Analysis

Sedimentology and Stratigraphy

Energy Geoscience

Website

Dr J

Dr. William (Bill) Johnson

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-5033

william.johnson@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Subsurface and Aquatic Contaminant/Colloid Fate and Transport

Website

 

 

 

Keith

Dr. Keith Koper

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-3669

keith.koper@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Array Seismology

Earth's ambient seismic noise field

Forensic seismology and exotic sources

Rupture imaging of giant earthquakes

Seismicity and tectonics of the intermountain West

Structure and dynamics of Earth's deep interior especially the core

Website

sarah

Dr. Sarah Lambart

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-6797

sarah.lambart@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Experimental Petrology

Geochemistry

Magma Genesis

Magma & Fluid - Rock Interactions

Website

  Dr L

Dr. Fan-Chi Lin

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-4373

fanchi.lin@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Seismology

Geophysics

Website

Dr L

Dr. Peter Lippert

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-4599

pete.lippert@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Continental Tectonics

Orogenic Systems

Surface Process Responses to Threshold Climate Events

Biomagnetism

Paleomagnetism and Rock & Mineral Magnetism

Website

 

 Dr M

Dr. Lowell Miyagi

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-6619

lowell.miyagi@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Texture and Anisotropy Development Under High Pressure and Temperature Conditions

Website

 

 Dr M

Dr. Jeffrey Moore

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-0491

jeff.moore@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Geohazards

Geomorphology

Geomechanics

Geophysics

Website

 

Dr. Chadlin Ostrander

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

chadlin.ostrander@utah.edu

Research Interests

Isotope Geochemistry 

Ancient Earth

Trace Elements

Website

 

Dr R

Dr. Kathleen Ritterbush

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-587-8846

k.ritterbush@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Marine Paleoecology

Mass Extinctions

Ecological Transitions

Biomineralization and Biogeochemical Cycling

Animal Form and Funcation

Evolution

 

 

Dr S

Dr. Kip Solomon

Professor

Francis Brown Presidential Endowed Chair in Geology and Geophysics (July 1, 2022-2025)

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-7231

kip.solomon@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Noble Gas Isotope Geochemistry

Groundwater Age Dating

Groundwater Hydrology

 

 

Dr T 

Dr. Michael Thorne

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-9792

michael.thorne@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Global Seismic Structure

Core Mantle Boundary Layer Structure

Volcano Seismology

Website

 

Tonie VanDam

 

Dr. Tonie van Dam

Professor

 Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-7266

tonie.vandam@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Geodesy TBA

Climate Science

Geodynamics

Geophysics

 DR Z

Dr. Michael Zhdanov

Distinguished Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-7750

michael.zhdanov@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Theoretical and Applied Geophysics

Inversion Theory

Electromagnetic Methods

Website


Holly

Dr. Holly Godsey

Associate  Professor Lecturer

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-587-7865

holly.godsey@utah.edu

Dr L

Dr. Mark Loewen

Associate Professor Lecturer

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Natural History Museum of Utah (NHMU)

801-891-6036

mloewen@utah.edu

Research Interests:

 Natural History Museum of Utah

Vertebrate Paleontology

Jurassic & Cretaceous Dinosaurs

Research Faculty

(updated Spring 2022)

Dr. Amir Allam

Research Assistant Professor (801)581-6820 amir.allam@utah.edu

Dr. Leif Anderson

Research Assistant Professor (801)587-5666 leif.anderson@utah.edu 

Dr. Jamie Farrell

Research Assistant Professor (801)581-7856 jamie.farrell@utah.edu

Dr. Diego Fernandez

Research Professor (801)587-9366 diego.fernandez@utah.edu

Dr. Marie D.  Jackson

Research Associate Professor (928)853-7967

m.d.jackson@utah.edu

Website

Dr. James M. Karner

Research Associate Professor (801)585-5976 j.karner@utah.edu

Dr. Huilian Ma

Research Associate Professor/Volunteer Faculty (801)585-5976 huilian.ma@utah.edu

Dr. Scott R. Miller

Research Assistant Professor (801)581-6217 scott.r.miller@utah.edu

Dr. Kris Pankow

Research Professor (801)585-6484 pankow@seis.utah.edu

Dr. James Pechmann

Research Associate Professor (801)581-3858 pechmann@seis.utah.edu

Dr. Gerard Schuster

Research Professor n/a j.schuster@utah.edu

 

Adjunct Faculty

 (updated March 2023)

Lukas Baumgartner

Adjunct Professor lukas.baumgartner@unil.ch

Carl Beno

Adjunct Assistant Professor jbeno@egi.utah.edu 

John O.D. Byrd

Adjunct Professor  jodbyrd@gmail.com

Suvankar Chakraborty

Adjunct Assistant Professor  suvankar.chakraborty@utah.edu

Yunji Choi

Adjunct Assistant Professor yunji.choi@jacobs.com; u6044262@utah.edu 

John B. Comer

Adjunct Professor jcomer@indiana.edu

James R. Ehleringer

Adjunct Professor jim.ehleringer@utah.edu

Anke Maria Friedrich

Adjunct Professor friedrich@lmu.de

Erica Gaddis

Adjunct Associate Professor  erica.gaddis@gmail.com

John M. Harris

Adjunct Professor  jharris@bef.usc.edu

Scott Hynek

Adjunct Associate Professor scott.hynek@gmail.com

Michael Jorgensen

Adjunct Assistant Professor mike.jorgensen@utah.edu

Shu Jiang

Adjunct Associate Professor sjiang@egi.utah.edu

Stephanie Mills

Adjunct Assistant Professor smills@utah.gov 

Sudeep Kanungo

Adjunct Associate Professor  skanungo@egi.utah.edu

James Ian Kirkland

Adjunct Associate Professor jameskirkland@utah.gov

Frederick Kyalo Manthi

Adjunct Assistant Professor fredrickmanthi@yahoo.com

Donald D. Miller

Adjunct Professor driftwood1050@gmail.com

Joseph N. Moore

Adjunct Professor jmoore@egi.utah.edu

Desmond E. Moser

Adjunct Assistant Professor desmond.moser@uwo.ca

Chandlin Ostrander

Adjunct Assistant Professor chadlin.ostrander@utah.edu 

Charles Oviatt

Adjunct Professor joviatt@ksu.edu

Sasha Carey Reed

Adjunct Assistant Professor screed@usgs.gov

Daniel D.B. Seely

Adjunct Assistant Professor dans@igesinc.com

Stuart Simmons

Adjunct Professor ssimmons@egi.utah.edu

Virginia B. Sisson

Adjunct Associate Professor j_sisson@netzero.net

Rasoul Sorkhabi

Adjunct Professor rsorkhabi@egi.utah.edu

Michael Andrew Stearns

Adjunct Assistant Professor michael.stearns@utah.edu

Lisa Elizabeth Stright

Adjunct Assistant Professor lisa.stright@colostate.edu

Philip E. Wannamaker

Adjunct Professor Please contact shanna.futral@utah.edu 

Anton Wrobleski

 

Adjunct Associate Professor  afranzjosef@gmail.com

Emeritus & Retired Faculty

(updated Spring 2022)

Walter J. Arabasz

(801) 581-7410 arabasz@seis.utah.edu

John Bartley

  john.bartley@utah.edu 

John Bowman

  john.bowman@utah.edu 

Ronald Bruhn

  ron.bruhn@utah.edu 

David S. Chapman

  Sadly, Dr. Chapman passed away 3/10/23. Please find details here

David Dinter

  david.dinter@utah.edu 

Allan A. (Tony) Ekdale

  a.ekdale@utah.edu

Sue Halgedahl

  s.halgedahl@utah.edu

Barbara (Barb) Nash

  barb.nash@utah.edu

William Parry

(801) 581-6217 w.parry@utah.edu

Erich Petersen

  erich.petersen@utah.edu 

Robert B. Smith

(801) 581-7129 robert.b.smith@utah.edu

 

Postdocs & Visiting Scholars

(updated June 2022) 

NAME

POSITION & START/END DATES

EMAIL

HOST FACULTY

Christian Santis

Post Doc 10/1/22 - 9/30/23 or 24

U6047585@utah.edu G Bowen

Deming Yang

Post Doc

2/15/21 - ?/22

u1038724@utah.edu G Bowen

Dustin Harper

Post Doc

2/1/22 - 1/31/23

dustin.t.harper@utah.edu

G  Bowen

Emma Morris

Post Doc

5/1/20 - 6/30/23

emma.morris@utah.edu C Johnson

Estelle Ledoux

Post Doc

6/1/22-6/1/23

estelle.ledoux@utah.edu Miyagi

Gesa Petersen

Post Doc

2/1/22 - ?/23

u6039493@utah.edu Pankow

Gugliemlo Grechi

Post Doc

6/1/22 - ?/23

06030569@utah.edu Moore

Hyejeong Kim

Post Doc

hyejeong.kim@utah.edu Fan-chi Lin

Jeremiah Bernau

Visiting Scholar

9/15/22-9/14/25

jeremiahbernau@gmail.com B Bowen

Kristen Verostick

Post Doc

1/1/21  -12/31/2022

u6034376@utah.edu G Bowen

Kuan Fu-feng

Post Doc

6/1/22 - ?/23

u6041347@utah.edu

F Lin

Rolf Kipfer

Visiting Scholar

12/15/22 - 8/15/22

kipfer@eawag.ch Solomon

Surya Pachhia

Post Doc

1/1/21 - 12/31/24

surya.pachhai@utah.edu Thorne

Technical, Lab, & Research Staff

(updated August 2022)

Christopher Anderson

Senior Laboratory Specialist

christopher.r.anderson@utah.edu

801-587-5666

Sagarika Banerjee

Lab Technician, SPATIAL

u0939524@utah.edu  

Stephannie Covarrubias

Project Coordinator, Project FIND-EM 

stephannie.covarrubias@utah.edu  

Calvin Dittmore

Project Coordinator, SPATIAL

 

u0570795@umail.utah.edu 

 

Michael Jorgensen  

Research Associate, CEMI

mike.jorgensen@utah.edu

 

Wil Mace

Research Manager

wil.mace@utah.edu

801-585-5214

Bradley Munk

Lab Technician

brad.munk@utah.edu

 

Brendon Quirk

Senior Lab Specialist

(lab management, sample preparation, and technical/research assistance)

brendon.quirk@utah.edu 

 

Le Wan

Research Scientist, CEMI

le.wan@utah.edu

801-585-0540

 

Graduate  Students

(updated March 2023)

NAME EMAIL ADVISOR
Armstrong, Alysha u1072028@utah.edu Koper, Keith
Austin, Paige L paige.austin@utah.edu Bowen, Gabriel
Berlin, Audrey u1424836@utah.edu Miyagi, Lowell
Birthisel, Tylor Andrew tbirthisel@nhmu.utah.edu Irmis, Randall
Bradshaw, Patrick Gallagher u1373729@utah.edu Pankow, Kris
Brennan, Kyle Gerard u0549548@utah.edu Bowen, Gabriel
Brinkman, Erin C erin.brinkman@utah.edu Johnson, William
Coe, Haley Hallett U1373405@utah.edu Birgenheier
Cunningham, Emily Hope u1350899@utah.edu Lambart, Sarah
Czech, Theresa Louise u1373645@utah.edu Farrel, Jamie
Engstrom, Alex Erik Anders u0635686@utah.edu Johnson, William & Solomon, Kip
Finley, Hannah u1154880@utah.edu Johnson, William
Finnegan, Riley Mairead-Mahoney riley.finnegan@utah.edu Moore, Jeff
Forbes, Nicholas M u0875540@utah.edu Koper, Farrel
Gaichuk, Ivan V u1046657@utah.edu Johnson, William
Gkogkas, Konstantinos u1249039@utah.edu Lin, Fan-Chi
Greenhalgh, Brent William brent.greenhalgh@utah.edu Johnson, Cari
Heberer, Mikelia Kathryn u1372915@utah.edu Ritterbush, Kathleen
Humphrey, Eric (Christopher) c.humphrey@utah.edu Solomon, Kip
Hutchings, Sean Jeffrey u0772592@utah.edu Koper, Keith
Jensen (Bessette-Kirton), Erin K erin.k.jensen@utah.edu Moore, Jeffery
Jurado, Santiago Alejandro santiago.jurado@utah.edu Johnson, William
Kiessner, Chantelle Luise c.kiessner@utah.edu Miyagi, Lowell
Liu, Cheng-Nan u1372289@utah.edu Lin, Fan-Chi
Lopez, Samuel u1214936@utah.edu Johnson, William
Mccreary, Molly Elizabeth Molly.mccreary@utah.edu Moore, Jeffery
Meirovitz, Casey D u0683295@utah.edu Stright, Lisa
Mendoza, Kevin A kevin.mendoza@utah.edu Bartley, John
Morris, Ashley Mae u1373708@utah.edu Lambart, Sarah
Muscott, Amelia Patrice amelia.muscott@utah.edu Birgenheier
Ochoa, Raul I u0715540@utah.edu Birgenheier, Lauren
Olds, Baylee M baolds@sa.utah.edu Brooks, Paul
Pavlovics, Victoria Louise u1423717@utah.edu Lippert
Rabade Garcia, Santiago E san.rabade@utah.edu Lin, Fan-Chi
Radwin, Mark Hager mark.radwin@utah.edu Bowen, Brenda
Ramirez Garcia, Sandra Berenice u1425482@utah.edu Lippert
Tao, Mo u1147630@utah.edu Zhdanov, Michael
Tully, Justin Edward u1377748@utah.edu Johnson, Cari
Wells, Daniel E u0770911@utah.edu Pankow, Kris
Wolf, Meg (Margaret) A meg.wolf@utah.edu Brooks, Paul
Zeng, Qicheng qicheng.zeng@utah.edu Lin, Fan-Chi
 
 
Last Updated: 6/2/23