Skip to content

Contact Us

______________

Hours: 

Office hours:

  • School year: Monday - Friday, 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM
    • Note: Most days, Jamee, our accountant, will be in at 8am M-Th.
  • Summer: Monday - Friday, 9:00 AM to 4:00 PM

 

Please note that staff work remotely 1 day a week. On those days, they will be reachable via email during office hours. 

Remote Work Days

  • Thea - M
  • Shanna - T
  • Alan - T
  • Jamee - F

Campus Location:

Frederick Albert Sutton Building

115 S 1460 E, Room 383
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-0102 

 

Phone:

(801) 581-7062

 

Email:

To ensure that your inquiry is addressed in a timely manner please send your correspondence to one of the following:

  • Internal Department Business: Refer to Staff Directory.
  • Academic Advising: michelle.tuitupou@utah.edu
  • All Other Inquiries: gg-info@lists.utah.edu

 

 

Department Administration - Room 383 FASB

 

 

    Dr. William (Bill) Johnson

         Chair

         william.johnson@utah.edu

          Admin Office: 801-585-6656

          Faculty Office: 801-581-5033

 

Tonie VanDam   Dr. Tonie van Dam

      Associate Chair

      tonie.vandam@utah.edu

      801-581-7266

 

 

 


Geology and Geophysics Office Staff

Main office: (801) 581-7062

staff photo

Department Administrative Manager

Shanna Futral

(801) 581-7162

shanna.futral@utah.edu

Responsibilities: Office and Staff Management, Assistant to the Chair, Faculty Relations (Reviews, Appointments, Hiring, Meetings, Committees, etc.), Visiting Scholars, Alumi Relations and Development Assistance, Open House, Awards Banquet, and Other Events.


Office Administrator

Thea Hatfield

(801) 585-6768

thea.hatfield@utah.edu 

Responsibilities: Human Resources, Insurance, Tuition Benefit, TAs/RAs/GAs, Post Docs, Payroll, Accounts Payable, EPRs/Electonic Payment Requests, Lab and Office Purchasing, Key Requests, Course Scheduling, Room Reservations


Academic Advisor (CMES Director of Student Success)

Michelle Tuitupou

(801) 581-6553

michelle.tuitupou@utah.edu 

Responsibilities: Advising, Student Recruitment and Outreach, Student Orientation, Scholarships, Curriculum, Graduation/Convocations, Accreditation, and Department Newsletters.


Accountant

Jamee Lefler

(801) 585-6652

jamee.lefler@utah.edu 

Responsibilities: Account Management (Set-up, Reconciliation, and Review), Recharge Centers Billing, eJournals, P-Cards, Billing, ePARs, Department Budget


Department Travel Facilitator 

Alan Rigby

(801) 585-5461

alan.rigby@utah.edu

Responsibilities: Lead Department Travel Facilitator (including Non-Employee, Affiliate, Undergrad Travel Facilitation; Group Field Trip Assistance; Student Travel Grants); Catering; Outreach Assistance; Dept Swag/Merchandise; and Assist with Collection Management (including "Halls & Walls"). 

Research Manager

Wil Mace

(801) 860-0383

 wil.mace@utah.edu

Responsibilities: Safety, Lab Management, Department Vehicle Rentals and Maintenance, Sutton Building Facilities Coordinator, Building Access, and Website.


Student Office Assistants

Kayleigh Kirkpatrick

(801) 585-7431

kayleigh.kirkpatrick@utah.edu

Responsibilities:  Graphic Design, Concur Travel Assistant, Distinguished Lecture Series (travel).

 

Faith Chand

(801) 585-7431

u1259839@utah.edu

Responsibilities: Distinguished Lecture Series (marketing, speaker coordination), Social Media (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube, TikTok), Website & Intranet, Bulletin Boards, Mail & Packages, Locker Rentals.

   Academic Faculty

(updated Spring 2022)

lauren

Dr. Lauren Birgenheier

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-3158

lauren.birgenheier@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Sedimentology

Stratigraphy

Petroleum Geology

Unconventional Resources

Paleoclimate

Website

Dr. B

Dr. Brenda Bowen

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building  (FASB)

801-585-5326

brenda.bowen@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Global Change and Sustainability

Fluid-Sediment Interactions

Surface Processes in Extreme Environments

Sedimentary Geochemistry

CO2 Sequestration

 Dr. B 

Dr. Gabe Bowen

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-7925

gabe.bowen@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Isotope Geochemistry

Paleoclimate

Carbon Cycle

Water Cycle

Forensic Ecology

Website

Dr. B

Dr. Paul Brooks

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-2858

paul.brooks@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Hydrology

Biogeochemistry

Snow

Climate

Water Resources

Hydrochemistry

Dr. B

Dr. Thure Cerling

Distinguished Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-5558

thure.cerling@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Environmental Geochemistry

Mammal Physiology

Isotope Geochemistry

Isotope Ecology

Website

 

 Dr. C

Dr. Marjorie Chan

Distinguished Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-6551

marjorie.chan@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Sedimentary Geology

Website

 

Dr. Sarah Crump

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

sarah.crump@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Arctic & Alpine Paleoecology

Paleoclimate

Glacier History

Website

 

Dr. Juan Carlos de Obeso

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

juancarlos.deobeso@ucalgary.ca

Research Interests:

Serpentinization

Carbonation

Fluid-rock interactions

Geochemistry

Website

Dr I

Dr. Randall Irmis

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Natural History Museum of Utah (NHMU)

801-581-6555/801-585-0561

irmis@umnh.utah.edu 

Research Interests:

Continental Vertebrate Ecosystems

Paleoecology and Taphonomic Processes

Dr J

Dr. Paul Jewell

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-6636

paul.jewell@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Surface Processes

Hydrology

Website

Dr J

Dr. Cari Johnson

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-3782

cari.johnson@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Basin Analysis

Sedimentology and Stratigraphy

Energy Geoscience

Website

Dr J

Dr. William (Bill) Johnson

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-5033

william.johnson@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Subsurface and Aquatic Contaminant/Colloid Fate and Transport

Website

 

 

 

Keith

Dr. Keith Koper

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-3669

keith.koper@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Array Seismology

Earth's ambient seismic noise field

Forensic seismology and exotic sources

Rupture imaging of giant earthquakes

Seismicity and tectonics of the intermountain West

Structure and dynamics of Earth's deep interior especially the core

Website

sarah

Dr. Sarah Lambart

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-6797

sarah.lambart@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Experimental Petrology

Geochemistry

Magma Genesis

Magma & Fluid - Rock Interactions

Website

  Dr L

Dr. Fan-Chi Lin

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-4373

fanchi.lin@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Seismology

Geophysics

Website

Dr L

Dr. Peter Lippert

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-4599

pete.lippert@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Continental Tectonics

Orogenic Systems

Surface Process Responses to Threshold Climate Events

Biomagnetism

Paleomagnetism and Rock & Mineral Magnetism

Website

 

 Dr M

Dr. Lowell Miyagi

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-6619

lowell.miyagi@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Texture and Anisotropy Development Under High Pressure and Temperature Conditions

Website

 

 Dr M

Dr. Jeffrey Moore

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-0491

jeff.moore@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Geohazards

Geomorphology

Geomechanics

Geophysics

Website

 

Dr. Chadlin Ostrander

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

chadlin.ostrander@utah.edu

Research Interests

Isotope Geochemistry 

Ancient Earth

Trace Elements

Website

 

Dr R

Dr. Kathleen Ritterbush

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-587-8846

k.ritterbush@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Marine Paleoecology

Mass Extinctions

Ecological Transitions

Biomineralization and Biogeochemical Cycling

Animal Form and Funcation

Evolution

 

 

Dr S

Dr. Kip Solomon

Professor

Francis Brown Presidential Endowed Chair in Geology and Geophysics (July 1, 2022-2025)

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-7231

kip.solomon@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Noble Gas Isotope Geochemistry

Groundwater Age Dating

Groundwater Hydrology

 

 

Dr T 

Dr. Michael Thorne

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-9792

michael.thorne@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Global Seismic Structure

Core Mantle Boundary Layer Structure

Volcano Seismology

Website

 

Tonie VanDam

 

Dr. Tonie van Dam

Professor

 Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-7266

tonie.vandam@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Geodesy TBA

Climate Science

Geodynamics

Geophysics

 DR Z

Dr. Michael Zhdanov

Distinguished Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-7750

michael.zhdanov@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Theoretical and Applied Geophysics

Inversion Theory

Electromagnetic Methods

Website


Holly

Dr. Holly Godsey

Associate  Professor Lecturer

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-587-7865

holly.godsey@utah.edu

Dr L

Dr. Mark Loewen

Associate Professor Lecturer

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Natural History Museum of Utah (NHMU)

801-891-6036

mloewen@utah.edu

Research Interests:

 Natural History Museum of Utah

Vertebrate Paleontology

Jurassic & Cretaceous Dinosaurs

Research Faculty

(updated Spring 2022)

Dr. Amir Allam

Research Assistant Professor (801)581-6820 amir.allam@utah.edu

Dr. Leif Anderson

Research Assistant Professor (801)587-5666 leif.anderson@utah.edu 

Dr. Jamie Farrell

Research Assistant Professor (801)581-7856 jamie.farrell@utah.edu

Dr. Diego Fernandez

Research Professor (801)587-9366 diego.fernandez@utah.edu

Dr. Marie D.  Jackson

Research Associate Professor (928)853-7967

m.d.jackson@utah.edu

Website

Dr. James M. Karner

Research Associate Professor (801)585-5976 j.karner@utah.edu

Dr. Huilian Ma

Research Associate Professor/Volunteer Faculty (801)585-5976 huilian.ma@utah.edu

Dr. Scott R. Miller

Research Assistant Professor (801)581-6217 scott.r.miller@utah.edu

Dr. Kris Pankow

Research Professor (801)585-6484 pankow@seis.utah.edu

Dr. James Pechmann

Research Associate Professor (801)581-3858 pechmann@seis.utah.edu

Dr. David Peterman

Research Assistant Professor n/a david.peterman@utah.edu 

 

Adjunct Faculty

 (updated Spring 2022)

Lukas Baumgartner

Adjunct Professor lukas.baumgartner@unil.ch

Carl Beno

Adjunct Assistant Professor jbeno@egi.utah.edu 

John O.D. Byrd

Adjunct Professor  jodbyrd@gmail.com

Suvankar Chakraborty

Adjunct Assistant Professor  suvankar.chakraborty@utah.edu

Yunji Choi

Adjunct Assistant Professor yunji.choi@jacobs.com; u6044262@utah.edu 

John B. Comer

Adjunct Professor jcomer@indiana.edu

Martin Cuma

Adjunct Assistant Professor  m.Cuma@utah.edu

James R. Ehleringer

Adjunct Professor jim.ehleringer@utah.edu

Anke Maria Friedrich

Adjunct Professor friedrich@lmu.de

Erica Gaddis

Adjunct Associate Professor  erica.gaddis@gmail.com

John M. Harris

Adjunct Professor  jharris@bef.usc.edu

Scott Hynek

Adjunct Associate Professor scott.hynek@gmail.com

Shu Jiang

Adjunct Associate Professor sjiang@egi.utah.edu

Stephanie Mills

Adjunct Assistant Professor smills@utah.gov 

Sudeep Kanungo

Adjunct Associate Professor  skanungo@egi.utah.edu

James Ian Kirkland

Adjunct Associate Professor jameskirkland@utah.gov

Frederick Kyalo Manthi

Adjunct Assistant Professor fredrickmanthi@yahoo.com

Donald D. Miller

Adjunct Professor driftwood1050@gmail.com

Joseph N. Moore

Adjunct Professor jmoore@egi.utah.edu

Desmond E. Moser

Adjunct Assistant Professor desmond.moser@uwo.ca

Chandlin Ostrander

Adjunct Assistant Professor chadlin.ostrander@utah.edu 

Charles Oviatt

Adjunct Professor joviatt@ksu.edu

Sasha Carey Reed

Adjunct Assistant Professor screed@usgs.gov

Gerard Schuster

Adjunct Professor gerard.schuster@kaust.edu.sa

Daniel D.B. Seely

Adjunct Assistant Professor dans@igesinc.com

Stuart Simmons

Adjunct Professor ssimmons@egi.utah.edu

Virginia B. Sisson

Adjunct Associate Professor j_sisson@netzero.net

Rasoul Sorkhabi

Adjunct Professor rsorkhabi@egi.utah.edu

Michael Andrew Stearns

Adjunct Assistant Professor michael.stearns@utah.edu

Lisa Elizabeth Stright

Adjunct Assistant Professor lisa.stright@colostate.edu

Philip E. Wannamaker

Adjunct Professor Please contact shanna.futral@utah.edu 

Anton Wrobleski

 

Adjunct Associate Professor  afranzjosef@gmail.com

Emeritus & Retired Faculty

(updated Spring 2022)

Walter J. Arabasz

(801) 581-7410 arabasz@seis.utah.edu

John Bartley

  john.bartley@utah.edu 

John Bowman

  john.bowman@utah.edu 

Ronald Bruhn

  ron.bruhn@utah.edu 

David S. Chapman

  david.chapman@utah.edu

David Dinter

  david.dinter@utah.edu 

Allan A. (Tony) Ekdale

  a.ekdale@utah.edu

Sue Halgedahl

  s.halgedahl@utah.edu

Barbara (Barb) Nash

  barb.nash@utah.edu

William Parry

(801) 581-6217 w.parry@utah.edu

Erich Petersen

  erich.petersen@utah.edu 

Robert B. Smith

(801) 581-7129 robert.b.smith@utah.edu

 

Postdocs & Visiting Scholars

(updated June 2022) 

NAME

POSITION & START/END DATES

EMAIL

HOST FACULTY

Brendon Quirk

Visiting Scientist

2/16/22-9/1/23

brendonjamesq@gmail.com

Moore

Deming Yang

Post Doc

2/15/21 - ?/22

u1038724@utah.edu G Bowen

Dustin Harper

Post Doc

2/1/22 - 1/31/23

dustin.t.harper@utah.edu

G  Bowen

Emma Morris

Post Doc

5/1/20 - 6/30/23

emma.morris@utah.edu C Johnson

Estelle Ledoux

Post Doc

6/1/22-6/1/23

estelle.ledoux@utah.edu Miyagi

Gesa Petersen

Post Doc

2/1/22 - ?/23

u6039493@utah.edu Pankow

Gugliemlo Grechi

Post Doc

6/1/22 - ?/23

06030569@utah.edu Moore

Kristen Verostick

Post Doc

1/1/21  -12/31/2022

u6034376@utah.edu G Bowen

Kuan Fu-feng

Post Doc

6/1/22 - ?/23

u6041347@utah.edu

F Lin

Rolf Kipfer

Visiting Scholar

12/15/22 - 8/15/22

kipfer@eawag.ch Solomon

Surya Pachhia

Post Doc

1/1/21 - 12/31/24

surya.pachhai@utah.edu Thorne

Susana Henriquez

Post Doc

1/15/20 - 12/31/22

susana.henriquez@utah.edu C Johnson & Lippert

Technical, Lab, & Research Staff

(updated August 2022)

Christopher Anderson

Senior Laboratory Specialist

christopher.r.anderson@utah.edu

801-587-5666

Sagarika Banerjee

Lab Technician

u0939524@utah.edu  

Stephannie Covarrubias

Research Associate

stephannie.covarrubias@utah.edu  

Logan Jamison

Research Analyst

u0587389@utah.edu 

 

Michael Jorgensen  

 Research Associate

mike.jorgensen@utah.edu

 

Wil Mace

Research Manager

wil.mace@utah.edu

801-585-5214

Bradley Munk

Lab Technician

brad.munk@utah.edu

 

Le Wan

CEMI  Research Scientist

le.wan@utah.edu

801-585-0540

 

Graduate  Students

(updated May 2022)

Alysha

Armstrong

Koper, Keith

u1072028@utah.edu

Paige 

Austin

Bowen, Gabriel

paige.austin@utah.edu

Audrey

Berlin

Miyagi, Lowell

u1424836@utah.edu

Erin

Bessette-Kirton

Moore, Jeffery

erin.bessette.kirton@utah.edu

Tylor

Birthisel

Irmis, Randall

tbirthisel@nhmu.utah.edu

Patrick 

Bradshaw 

Pankow, Kris

u1373729@utah.edu 

Kyle 

Brennan

Bowen, Gabriel

u0549548@utah.edu 

Erin 

Brinkman

Johnson, William

erin.brinkman@utah.edu

Haley 

Coe 

Birgenheier

U1373405@utah.edu

Emily

Cunningham

Lambart, Sarah

u1350899@utah.edu

Theresa (Tessa)

Czech

Farrel, Jamie

u1373645@utah.edu 

Alex

Engstrom 

Johnson, William & Solomon, Kip

u0635686@utah.edu

Hannah

Finley

Johnson, William

u1154880@utah.edu

Konstantinos

Gkogkas

Lin, Fan-Chi

u1249039@utah.edu

Brent 

Greenhalgh

Johnson, Cari

brent.greenhalgh@utah.edu

Hannah

Hartley

Johnson, Cari

hannah.hartley@utah.edu

Mikelia 

Herberer

Ritterbush, Kathleen

u1372915@utah.edu 

Eric

Humphrey

Solomon, Kip

c.humphrey@utah.edu

Sean 

Hutchings

Koper, Keith

u0772592@utah.edu 

Clay

Jones

Bowman, John

cjones@egi.utah.edu 

Santiago

Jurado Mora

Johnson, William

u1351168@utah.edu 

Chantelle

Kiessner

Miyagi, Lowell

c.kiessner@utah.edu 

Kurt

Lawson

Lambart, Sarah

Please contact shanna.futral@utah.edu 

Cheng-Nan

Liu

Lin, Fan-Chi

u1372289@utah.edu 

Sam

Lopez

Johnson, William

u1214936@utah.edu

Molly

McCreary

Moore, Jeffery

Molly.mccreary@utah.edu

Casey

Meirovitz

Stright, Lisa

u0683295@utah.edu

Kevin

Mendoza

Bartley, John

kevin.mendoza@utah.edu

Ashley

Morris 

Lambart, Sarah

u1373708@utah.edu 

Amelia

Muscott

Crump, Sarah

amelia.muscott@utah.edu

Raul

Ochoa

Birgenheier, Lauren

u0715540@utah.edu

Baylee

Olds 

Brooks, Paul

baolds@sa.utah.edu 

Victoria

Pavlovics

Lippert, Pete

u1423717@utah.edu

Santiago

Rabade Garcia

Lin, Fan-Chi

san.rabade@utah.edu

Mark

Radwin

Bowen, Brenda

mark.radwin@utah.edu 

Sandra

Ramirez-Garcia

Lippert, Pete

u1425482@utah.edu

Mo

Tao

Zhdanov, Michael

u1147630@utah.edu

Justin

Tully

Johnson, Cari

u1377748@utah.edu 

Yadong

Wang

Lin, Fan-Chi

Yadong.Wang@utah.edu

Daniel

Wells

Pankow, Kris

u0770911@utah.edu

Meg

Wolf

Brooks, Paul

meg.wolf@utah.edu

Qicheng

Zeng

Lin, Fan-Chi

qicheng.zeng@utah.edu

 
 
Last Updated: 10/4/22