Skip to content

Main Navigation

Department of Geology and Geophysics Directory

Visitors coming to campus, please check in at room 383 in FASB so we may assist you in locating any department personnal who you are meeting with.

 

Department Administration - Room 383 FASB

(updated Summer 2020)

thure Department Chair

 Thure E. Cerling

 Office Phone: (801) 585-6656

 Email: thure.cerling@utah.edu  


Department ManAger

Shanna Futral

Office Phone: (801) 581-7162

Email: shanna.futral@utah.edu


Administrative Assistant

Thea Hatfield

Office Phone: (801) 581-7062

Email:  thea.hatfield@utah.edu 


Academic Advisor

Michelle Tuitupou

Office Phone: (801) 581-6553

Email: michelle.tuitupou@utah.edu 


Accountant

Steve Rondina

Office Phone: (801) 585-6652

Email: steve.rondina@utah.edu


Student Office Assistants

Kayleigh Kirkpatrick

Office Phone: (801) 585-7431

Email:  u1148394@gcloud.utah.edu

 

Paul Eubanks

Office Phone: (801) 585-7431

Email: paul.eubanks@utah.edu

Academic Faculty

(updated Summer 2020)

Dr. B

Dr. John Bartley

Emeritus Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-1670

john.bartley@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Structural Geology

Tectonics

Igneous Petrology

lauren

Dr. Lauren Birgenheier

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-3158

lauren.birgenheier@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Sedimentology

Stratigraphy

Petroleum Geology

Unconventional Resources

Paleoclimate

Website

Dr. B

Dr. Brenda Bowen

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building  (FASB)

801-585-5326

brenda.bowen@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Global Change and Sustainability

Fluid-Sediment Interactions

Surface Processes in Extreme Environments

Sedimentary Geochemistry

CO2 Sequestration

Human Impacts on Environment

Interdisciplinary STEM Ed.

Dr. B 

Dr. Gabe Bowen

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-7925

gabe.bowen@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Isotope Geochemistry

Paleoclimate

Carbon Cycle

Water Cycle

Forensic Ecology

Website

 Dr. B

Dr. John Bowman

Emeritus Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-7250

john.bowman@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Isotope Geology

Metamorphic Petrology

 Dr. B

Dr. Paul Brooks

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-2858

paul.brooks@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Hydrology

Biogeochemistry

Snow

Climate

Water Resources

Hydrochemistry

Dr. B

Dr. Thure Cerling

Distinguished Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-5558

thure.cerling@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Environmental Geochemistry

Mammal Physiology

Isotope Geochemistry

Isotope Ecology

Website

 Dr. C

Dr. Marjorie Chan

Distinguished Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-6551

marjorie.chan@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Sedimentary Geology

Website

Dinter 

Dr. David Dinter

Professor Lecture

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-7937

david.dinter@utah.edu

 Holly

Dr. Holly Godsey

Associate  Professor Lecture

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-587-7865

holly.godsey@utah.edu

Dr I

Dr. Randall Irmis

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Natural History Museum of Utah (NHMU)

801-581-6555/801-585-0561

randall.irmis@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Continental Vertebrate Ecosystems

Paleoecology and Taphonomic Processes

Dr J

Dr. Paul Jewell

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-6636

paul.jewell@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Surface Processes

Hydrology

Website

 

 

Dr J

Dr. Cari Johnson

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-3782

cari.johnson@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Basin Analysis

Sedimentology and Stratigraphy

Energy Geoscience

Website

Dr J

Dr. William (Bill) Johnson

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-5033

william.johnson@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Subsurface and Aquatic Contaminant/Colloid Fate and Transport

Website


 

 

Keith

Dr. Keith Koper

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-3669

keith.koper@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Array Seismology

Earth's ambient seismic noise field

Forensic seismology and exotic sources

Rupture imaging of giant earthquakes

Seismicity and tectonics of the intermountain West

Structure and dynamics of Earth's deep interior especially the core

Website

sarah

Dr. Sarah Lambart

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-9797

sarah.lambart@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Experimental Petrology

Geochemistry

Magma Genesis

Magma & Fluid - Rock Interactions

Website

  Dr L

Dr. Mark Loewen

Associate Professor Lecturer

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Natural History Museum of Utah (NHMU)

801-891-6036

mloewen@utah.edu

Research Interests:

 Natural History Museum of Utah

Vertebrate Paleontology

Jurassic & Cretaceous Dinosaurs

  Dr L

Dr. Fan-Chi Lin

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-4373

fanchi.lin@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Seismology

Geophysics

Website

 Dr L

Dr. Peter Lippert

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-4599

pete.lippert@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Continental Tectonics

Orogenic Systems

Surface Process Responses to Threshold Climate Events

Biomagnetism

Paleomagnetism and Rock & Mineral Magnetism

Website

 Dr M

Dr. Lowell Miyagi

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-6619

lowell.miyagi@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Texture and Anisotropy Development Under High Pressure and Temperature Conditions

Website

 Dr M

Dr. Jeffrey Moore

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-0491

jeff.moore@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Geohazards

Geomorphology

Geomechanics

Geophysics

Website

 

Dr P

Dr. Erich Petersen

Emeritus Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-7238

erich.petersen@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Economic Geology

Mineralogy

Geochemistry

Environment

 

Dr R

Dr. Kathleen Ritterbush

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-587-8846

k.ritterbush@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Marine Paleoecology

Mass Extinctions

Ecological Transitions

Biomineralization and Biogeochemical Cycling

Animal Form and Funcation

Evolution

 

 

Dr S

Dr. Kip Solomon

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-7231

kip.solomon@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Noble Gas Isotope Geochemistry

Groundwater Age Dating

Groundwater Hydrology

 

 

Dr T 

Dr. Michael Thorne

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-9792

michael.thorne@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Global Seismic Structure

Core Mantle Boundary Layer Structure

Volcano Seismology

Website

 

Photo TBA

 

Dr. Tonie van Dam

(link to U of U faculty profile TBA)

Professor

 Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Phone TBA

Email TBA

Research Interests:

TBA

 

 DR Z

Dr. Michael Zhdanov

Distinguished Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-7750

michael.zhdanov@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Theoretical and Applied Geophysics

Inversion Theory

Electromagnetic Methods

Website

Research Faculty

(updated Summer 2020)

 

Amir Allam

Research Asisstant Professor (801)581-6820 amir.allam@utah.edu
 

Jamie Farrell

Research Assistant Professor (801)581-7856 jamie.farrell@utah.edu
 

Diego Fernandez

Research Associate Professor (801)587-9366 diego.fernandez@utah.edu
 

Richard Fiorella

Research Assistant Professor (801)581-7062

rich.fiorella@utah.edu

 

 

Alex Gribenko 

Research Assistant Professor (801)585-7071 alex.gribenko@utah.edu
 

Marie D.  Jackson

Research Associate Professor (928)853-7967

m.d.jackson@utah.edu

Website

 

James M. Karner

Research Associate Professor (801)585-5976 j.karner@utah.edu
 

Huilian Ma

Research Associate Professor (801)585-5976 huilian.ma@utah.edu
 

Scott R. Miller

Research Assistant Professor (801)581-6217 scott.r.miller@utah.edu
 

Kris Pankow

Research Professor (801)585-6484 pankow@seis.utah.edu
 

James Pechmann

Research Associate Professor (801)581-3858 pechmann@seis.utah.edu

 

 

ADJUNCT Faculty

 (updated Summer 2020)

David Applegate

Adjunct Professor applegate@usgs.gov

Lukas Baumgartner

Adjunct Professor lukas.baumgartner@unil.ch

Harley Benz

Adjunct Professor benz@usgs.gov

John O.D. Byrd

Adjunct Professor  jodbyrd@gmail.com

Nancy Carpenter

Adjunct Assistant Professor nancycarpenterdvm@yahoo.com

Suvankar Chakraborti

Adjunct Assistant Professor  suvankar.chakraborty@utah.edu

John B. Comer

Adjunct Professor jcomer@indiana.edu

Martin Cuma

Adjunct Assistant Professor  m.Cuma@utah.edu

James R. Ehleringer

Adjunct Professor jim.ehleringer@utah.edu

Anke Maria Friedrich

Adjunct Professor friedrich@lmu.de

Erica Gaddis

Adjunct Associate Professor  erica.gaddis@gmail.com

John M. Harris

Adjunct Professor  jharris@bef.usc.edu

Scott Hynek

Adjunct Associate Professor scott.hynek@gmail.com

Shu Jiang

Adjunct Associate Professor sjiang@egi.utah.edu

Sudeep Kanungo

Adjunct Associate Professor  skanungo@egi.utah.edu

James Ian Kirkland

Adjunct Associate Professor jameskirkland@utah.gov

Frederick Kyalo Manthi

Adjunct Assistant Professor fredrickmanthi@yahoo.com

Donald D. Miller

Adjunct Professor driftwood1050@gmail.com

Joseph N. Moore

Adjunct Professor jmoore@egi.utah.edu

Desmond E. Moser

Adjunct Assistant Professor desmond.moser@uwo.ca

Charles Oviatt

Adjunct Professor joviatt@ksu.edu

Sasha Carey Reed

Adjunct Assistant Professor screed@usgs.gov

Gerard Schuster

Adjunct Professor gerard.schuster@kaust.edu.sa

Daniel D.B. Seely

Adjunct Assistant Professor dans@igesinc.com

Stuart Simmons

Adjunct Professor ssimmons@egi.utah.edu

Virginia B. Sisson

Adjunct Associate Professor j_sisson@netzero.net

Rasoul Sorkhabi

Adjunct Professor Lisa.Stright@Colostate.EDU

Michael Andrew Stearns

Adjunct Assistant Professor michael.stearns@utah.edu

Lisa Elizabeth Stright

Adjunct Assistant Professor Lisa.Stright@Colostate.EDU

Philip E. Wannamaker

Adjunct Professor pewanna@egi.utah.edu

Anton Wrobleski

Adjunct Associate Professor  afranzjosef@gmail.com

Emeritus Faculty

(updated Fall 2019)

Emeritus Faculty is a title conferred by The University of Utah for the purpose of recognizing the meritorious service of a faculty member upon or after retirement.  Appointments to emeritus status for retired faculty members are made by the Board of Trustees on recommendation of the President of the University and the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs.

Walter J. Arabasz

(801) 581-7410 arabasz@seis.utah.edu

Ronald Bruhn

  ron.bruhn@utah.edu

David S. Chapman

  david.chapman@utah.edu

Allan A. (Tony) Ekdale

  a.ekdale@utah.edu

Sue Halgedahl

  s.halgedahl@utah.edu

Barbara (Barb) Nash

  barb.nash@utah.edu

William Parry

(801) 581-6217 w.parry@utah.edu

Dane Picard

  dane.picard@utah.edu

Robert B. Smith

(801) 581-7129 robert.b.smith@utah.edu

 

Postdocs

(updated Fall 2019)

Lindsey Nesbitt 

lindseychr@gmail.com

Sarah Magozzi 

sarah.magozzi@utah.edu

Scott T. Allen 

scott.t.allen@utah.edu

Surya Pachhai 

surya.pachhai@utah.edu

Jessica Guo 

u1297807@utah.edu

Xiaoling Zhou 

xiaolingzhou@lbl.gov

Xiaonan Tai 

xiaonan.tai@utah.edu

Nanfei Cheng

n.cheng@utah.edu

Lab Personnel, Researchers, & Curator

(updated Summer 2020)

Chris Anderson

Senior Laboratory Specialist

christopher.r.anderson@utah.edu

801-587-5666

Sagarika Banerjee

Lab Technician

sagarika1005@yahoo.com.co.in

801-585-5596

Will Mace

Research Manager

wil.mace@utah.edu

801-585-5214

Bradley Munk

Lab Technician

brad.munk@gmail.com

801-581-7062

Alan Rigby

Research Manager

alan.rigby@utah.edu

801-587-5666

Quintin Sahratian

Curator

quintin.sahratian@utah.edu

801-581-7209

Le Wan

CEMI  Research Scientist

le.wan@utah.edu

801-585-0540

 

GRADUATE  STUDENTS

(updated Fall 2019)

Casey

Duncan

casey.j.duncan@utah.edu

Casey

Meirovitz

cmeirovitz@gmail.com

Catherine

Valery

catherine.valery@utah.edu

Cesar

Ron

cesar.ron@utah.edu

Cheng

Tarng

u1213258@utah.edu

Claire

Atlas

claire.atlas@utah.edu

Clay

Jones

cjones@egi.utah.edu

Courtney

Wagner

courtney.wagner@utah.edu

Daniel

Wells

u0770911@utah.edu

Elizabeth

Berg

e.m.berg@utah.edu

Ellen

Reat

ellen.reat@utah.edu

Eric

Humphrey

humphrey.c.eric@gmail.com

Erin

Bessette-Kirton

erin.bessette.kirton@utah.edu

Evan

Kipnis

evan.kipnis@utah.edu

Feng

Lin

feng.lin@utah.edu

Gabriela

St. Pierre

u0948717@utah.edu

Glen

Mackey

glen.mackey@gmail.com

Grant

Rea-Downing

grant.readowning@utah.edu

Guanning

Pang

g.pang@utah.edu

Hannah

Hartley

hannah.hartley@utah.edu

Jacob

Wright

u1056708@utah.edu

Jens

Ammon

u0525962@utah.edu

Jeremiah

Bernau

u1147015@utah.edu

Jory

Lerback

jory.lerback@utah.edu

Joshua

Marquardt

joshua.marquardt@utah.edu

Ke

Li

u0884302@utah.edu

Keegan

Melstrom

u0866348@utah.edu

Kendall

Fitzgerald

kendall.fitzgerald@utah.edu

Kevin

Mendoza

kevin.mendoza@utah.edu

Konstantinos

Gkogkas

u1249039@utah.edu

Logan

Jamison

u0587389@utah.edu

Mallory

Millington

mallory.millington@utah.edu

Margaret

Wolf

u1194912@utah.edu

Michael

Jorgensen

mike.jorgensen@utah.edu

Mo

Tao

tmye1010@gmail.com

Monique

Holt

u1174394@utah.edu

Muran

Han

u0702580@utah.edu

Nicholas

Hebdon

nicholas.hebdon@utah.edu

Nick

Forbes

nicholasforbes95@gmail.com

Nicole

Rinaldi

u1205895@utah.edu

Otto

Lang

ottoian13@gmail.com

Paul

Geimer

paul.geimer@utah.edu

Peter

Maxeiner

maxeinerp@optonline.net

Raul

Ochoa

u0715540@utah.edu

Riley

Finnegan

riley.finnegan@utah.edu

Robin

Fults

rfults@egi.utah.edu

Sam

Lopez

u1214936@utah.edu

Samantha

Couper

samantha.couper@utah.edu

Santiago

Rabade Garcia

san.rabade@utah.edu

Scott

Hill

s.hill@m.cc.utah.edu

Seana

Hood

s.hood@utah.edu

Sin-Mei

Wu

sinmei.wu@utah.edu

Tylor

Birthisel

tbirthisel@nhmu.utah.edu

Xiaolei

Tu

u0986320@utah.edu

Yadong

Wang

Yadong.Wang@utah.edu

Zackery

Wistort

z.wistort@utah.edu

 
Last Updated: 6/23/20