Skip to content

Main Navigation

Department of Geology and Geophysics Directory

Visitors coming to campus, please check in at room 383 in FASB so we may assist you in locating any department personnal who you are meeting with.

 

Department Administration - Room 383 FASB

(updated Summer 2020)

thure

DR. THURE CERLING

Chair

(801) 585-6656

 thure.cerling@utah.edu  

 

Dr. B

DR. BRENDA BOWEN

Associate Chair

801-585-5326

brenda.bowen@utah.edu

 


Department Administrative ManAger

Shanna Futral

(801) 581-7162

shanna.futral@utah.edu

Responsibilities: Office and Staff Management, Assistant to the Chair, Faculty Relations (Reviews, Appointments, Hiring, Meetings, Committees, etc.),  Alumi Relations and Development Assistance, Open House, Awards Banquet, and Other Events.


Office AdministratOR

Thea Hatfield

(801) 581-7062

thea.hatfield@utah.edu 

Responsibilities: Human Resources, Insurance, Tuition Benefit, TAs/RAs/GAs, Post Docs and Visiting Scholars, Payroll, Accounts Payable, Purchasing, and Room Reservations.


Academic Advisor (CMES Director Of STudent Success)

Michelle Tuitupou

(801) 581-6553

michelle.tuitupou@utah.edu 

Responsibilities: Advising, Course Scheduling, Student Recruitment and Outreach, Student Orientation, Scholarships, Curriculum, Graduation/Convocations, Accreditation, and Department Newsletters.


Accountant

Steve Rondina

(801) 585-6652

steve.rondina@utah.edu

Responsibilities: Account Management (Set-up, Reconciliation, and Review), P-Cards, Billing, EPRs/Electonic Payment Requests, Student Travel Grants, Department Budget, Instagram, and YouTube.


Field, Lab, & Research ManagerS

Wil Mace

801-860-0383

 wil.mace@utah.edu

Responsibilities: Safety, Lab Management, Vehicle Maintenance,  Sutton Building Facilities Coordinator, and Website.

 

Alan Rigby

801-587-5666

alan.rigby@utah.edu

Responsibilities: Department Vehicle Rentals; Non-Employee, Affiliate, Undergrad Travel Faciliation; Group Field Trip Assistance; Recharge Centers Billing; Outreach Assistance; Room Reservations; Dept Swag/Merchandise; and Assist with Collection Management (including "Halls & Walls"). 

 


Student Office Assistants

Kayleigh Kirkpatrick

(801) 585-7431

u1148394@gcloud.utah.edu

Responsibilities:  Graphic Design, Concur Travel, and Distinguished Lecture Series.

 

Paul Eubanks

(801) 585-7431

paul.eubanks@utah.edu

Responsibilities: Facebook, Twitter, Website, Intranet, Bulletin Boards, Mail & Packages, Locker Rentals, and Earth Science Movie Nights.

Academic Faculty

(updated Summer 2020)

Dr. B

Dr. John Bartley

Emeritus Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-1670

john.bartley@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Structural Geology

Tectonics

Igneous Petrology

lauren

Dr. Lauren Birgenheier

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-3158

lauren.birgenheier@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Sedimentology

Stratigraphy

Petroleum Geology

Unconventional Resources

Paleoclimate

Website

Dr. B

Dr. Brenda Bowen

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building  (FASB)

801-585-5326

brenda.bowen@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Global Change and Sustainability

Fluid-Sediment Interactions

Surface Processes in Extreme Environments

Sedimentary Geochemistry

CO2 Sequestration

Human Impacts on Environment

Interdisciplinary STEM Ed.

Dr. B 

Dr. Gabe Bowen

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-7925

gabe.bowen@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Isotope Geochemistry

Paleoclimate

Carbon Cycle

Water Cycle

Forensic Ecology

Website

 Dr. B

Dr. John Bowman

Emeritus Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-7250

john.bowman@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Isotope Geology

Metamorphic Petrology

 Dr. B

Dr. Paul Brooks

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-2858

paul.brooks@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Hydrology

Biogeochemistry

Snow

Climate

Water Resources

Hydrochemistry

Dr. B

Dr. Thure Cerling

Distinguished Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-5558

thure.cerling@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Environmental Geochemistry

Mammal Physiology

Isotope Geochemistry

Isotope Ecology

Website

 Dr. C

Dr. Marjorie Chan

Distinguished Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-6551

marjorie.chan@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Sedimentary Geology

Website

Dinter 

Dr. David Dinter

Professor Lecturer

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-7937

david.dinter@utah.edu

 Holly

Dr. Holly Godsey

Associate  Professor Lecturer

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-587-7865

holly.godsey@utah.edu

Dr I

Dr. Randall Irmis

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Natural History Museum of Utah (NHMU)

801-581-6555/801-585-0561

randall.irmis@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Continental Vertebrate Ecosystems

Paleoecology and Taphonomic Processes

Dr J

Dr. Paul Jewell

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-6636

paul.jewell@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Surface Processes

Hydrology

Website

 

 

Dr J

Dr. Cari Johnson

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-3782

cari.johnson@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Basin Analysis

Sedimentology and Stratigraphy

Energy Geoscience

Website

Dr J

Dr. William (Bill) Johnson

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-5033

william.johnson@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Subsurface and Aquatic Contaminant/Colloid Fate and Transport

Website


 

 

Keith

Dr. Keith Koper

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-3669

keith.koper@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Array Seismology

Earth's ambient seismic noise field

Forensic seismology and exotic sources

Rupture imaging of giant earthquakes

Seismicity and tectonics of the intermountain West

Structure and dynamics of Earth's deep interior especially the core

Website

sarah

Dr. Sarah Lambart

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-6797

sarah.lambart@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Experimental Petrology

Geochemistry

Magma Genesis

Magma & Fluid - Rock Interactions

Website

  Dr L

Dr. Mark Loewen

Associate Professor Lecturer

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Natural History Museum of Utah (NHMU)

801-891-6036

mloewen@utah.edu

Research Interests:

 Natural History Museum of Utah

Vertebrate Paleontology

Jurassic & Cretaceous Dinosaurs

  Dr L

Dr. Fan-Chi Lin

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-4373

fanchi.lin@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Seismology

Geophysics

Website

 Dr L

Dr. Peter Lippert

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-4599

pete.lippert@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Continental Tectonics

Orogenic Systems

Surface Process Responses to Threshold Climate Events

Biomagnetism

Paleomagnetism and Rock & Mineral Magnetism

Website

 Dr M

Dr. Lowell Miyagi

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-6619

lowell.miyagi@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Texture and Anisotropy Development Under High Pressure and Temperature Conditions

Website

 Dr M

Dr. Jeffrey Moore

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-0491

jeff.moore@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Geohazards

Geomorphology

Geomechanics

Geophysics

Website

 

Dr P

Dr. Erich Petersen

Emeritus Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-7238

erich.petersen@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Economic Geology

Mineralogy

Geochemistry

Environment

 

Dr R

Dr. Kathleen Ritterbush

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-587-8846

k.ritterbush@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Marine Paleoecology

Mass Extinctions

Ecological Transitions

Biomineralization and Biogeochemical Cycling

Animal Form and Funcation

Evolution

 

 

Dr S

Dr. Kip Solomon

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-7231

kip.solomon@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Noble Gas Isotope Geochemistry

Groundwater Age Dating

Groundwater Hydrology

 

 

Dr T 

Dr. Michael Thorne

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-9792

michael.thorne@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Global Seismic Structure

Core Mantle Boundary Layer Structure

Volcano Seismology

Website

 

Tonie VanDam

 

Dr. Tonie van dam

Professor

 Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Phone TBA

Email TBA

Research Interests:

Geodesy TBA

 

 DR Z

Dr. Michael Zhdanov

Distinguished Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-7750

michael.zhdanov@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Theoretical and Applied Geophysics

Inversion Theory

Electromagnetic Methods

Website

Research Faculty

(updated December 2020)

 

Amir Allam

Research Asisstant Professor (801)581-6820 amir.allam@utah.edu
 

Leif Anderson

Research Assistant Professor TBA 06033954@utah.edu 
 

Jamie Farrell

Research Assistant Professor (801)581-7856 jamie.farrell@utah.edu
 

Diego Fernandez

Research Associate Professor (801)587-9366 diego.fernandez@utah.edu
 

Richard Fiorella

Research Assistant Professor (801)581-7062

rich.fiorella@utah.edu

 

 

Alex Gribenko 

Research Assistant Professor (801)585-7071 alex.gribenko@utah.edu
 

Marie D.  Jackson

Research Associate Professor (928)853-7967

m.d.jackson@utah.edu

Website

 

James M. Karner

Research Associate Professor (801)585-5976 j.karner@utah.edu
 

Huilian Ma

Research Associate Professor (801)585-5976 huilian.ma@utah.edu
 

Scott R. Miller

Research Assistant Professor (801)581-6217 scott.r.miller@utah.edu
 

Kris Pankow

Research Professor (801)585-6484 pankow@seis.utah.edu
 

James Pechmann

Research Associate Professor (801)581-3858 pechmann@seis.utah.edu

 

 

ADJUNCT Faculty

 (updated Summer 2020)

David Applegate

Adjunct Professor applegate@usgs.gov

Lukas Baumgartner

Adjunct Professor lukas.baumgartner@unil.ch

Harley Benz

Adjunct Professor benz@usgs.gov

John O.D. Byrd

Adjunct Professor  jodbyrd@gmail.com

Nancy Carpenter

Adjunct Assistant Professor nancycarpenterdvm@yahoo.com

Suvankar Chakraborti

Adjunct Assistant Professor  suvankar.chakraborty@utah.edu

John B. Comer

Adjunct Professor jcomer@indiana.edu

Martin Cuma

Adjunct Assistant Professor  m.Cuma@utah.edu

James R. Ehleringer

Adjunct Professor jim.ehleringer@utah.edu

Anke Maria Friedrich

Adjunct Professor friedrich@lmu.de

Erica Gaddis

Adjunct Associate Professor  erica.gaddis@gmail.com

John M. Harris

Adjunct Professor  jharris@bef.usc.edu

Scott Hynek

Adjunct Associate Professor scott.hynek@gmail.com

Shu Jiang

Adjunct Associate Professor sjiang@egi.utah.edu

Stephanie Mills

Adjunct Assistant Professor smills@utah.gov 

Sudeep Kanungo

Adjunct Associate Professor  skanungo@egi.utah.edu

James Ian Kirkland

Adjunct Associate Professor jameskirkland@utah.gov

Frederick Kyalo Manthi

Adjunct Assistant Professor fredrickmanthi@yahoo.com

Donald D. Miller

Adjunct Professor driftwood1050@gmail.com

Joseph N. Moore

Adjunct Professor jmoore@egi.utah.edu

Desmond E. Moser

Adjunct Assistant Professor desmond.moser@uwo.ca

Charles Oviatt

Adjunct Professor joviatt@ksu.edu

Sasha Carey Reed

Adjunct Assistant Professor screed@usgs.gov

Gerard Schuster

Adjunct Professor gerard.schuster@kaust.edu.sa

Daniel D.B. Seely

Adjunct Assistant Professor dans@igesinc.com

Stuart Simmons

Adjunct Professor ssimmons@egi.utah.edu

Virginia B. Sisson

Adjunct Associate Professor j_sisson@netzero.net

Rasoul Sorkhabi

Adjunct Professor Lisa.Stright@Colostate.EDU

Michael Andrew Stearns

Adjunct Assistant Professor michael.stearns@utah.edu

Lisa Elizabeth Stright

Adjunct Assistant Professor Lisa.Stright@Colostate.EDU

Philip E. Wannamaker

Adjunct Professor pewanna@egi.utah.edu

Anton Wrobleski

Adjunct Associate Professor  afranzjosef@gmail.com

Emeritus Faculty

(updated Fall 2019)

Emeritus Faculty is a title conferred by The University of Utah for the purpose of recognizing the meritorious service of a faculty member upon or after retirement.  Appointments to emeritus status for retired faculty members are made by the Board of Trustees on recommendation of the President of the University and the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs.

Walter J. Arabasz

(801) 581-7410 arabasz@seis.utah.edu

Ronald Bruhn

  ron.bruhn@utah.edu

David S. Chapman

  david.chapman@utah.edu

Allan A. (Tony) Ekdale

  a.ekdale@utah.edu

Sue Halgedahl

  s.halgedahl@utah.edu

Barbara (Barb) Nash

  barb.nash@utah.edu

William Parry

(801) 581-6217 w.parry@utah.edu

Dane Picard

  dane.picard@utah.edu

Robert B. Smith

(801) 581-7129 robert.b.smith@utah.edu

 

Postdocs & VISITING SCHOLARS

(updated January 2021) 

NAME

POSITION

EMAIL

HOST FACULTY

Susana Henriquez

Post Doc

susana.shg@gmail.com 

C Johnson & P Lippert

Maria Mesimeri

Post Doc

maria.mesimeri@utah.edu
 Pankow

Emma Morris

Post Doc

emma.morris@utah.edu

C Johnson

Surya Pachhai

Post Doc

surya.pachhai@utah.edu

Thorne

David Peterman

Post Doc

peterman.10@wright.edu 

Ritterbush

Alejandro Serna

Post Doc

u1170644@utah.edu

G Bowen

Kirsten Verostick

Post Doc

u6034376@utah.edu

G Bowen

Sin-Mei Wu

 Post Doc  sinmei.wu@utah.edu   Farrell

Deming Yang

Post Doc

u1038724@utah.edu 

G Bowen

Hao Zhang

Post Doc

u0149900@utah.edu 

Pankow

Shuang Zhang

Visiting Scholar

zhangshuang_geo@hotmail.com 

Zhdanov

Lab Personnel, Researchers, & Curator

(updated Summer 2020)

Chris Anderson

Senior Laboratory Specialist

christopher.r.anderson@utah.edu

801-587-5666

Sagarika Banerjee

Lab Technician

sagarika1005@yahoo.com.co.in

801-585-5596

Logan Jamison

Research Analyst

u0587389@utah.edu 

 

Will Mace

Research Manager

wil.mace@utah.edu

801-585-5214

Bradley Munk

Lab Technician

brad.munk@gmail.com

801-581-7062

Jacob Peterson 

Research Associate

u0881969@utah.edu 

 

Alan Rigby

Research Manager

alan.rigby@utah.edu

801-587-5666

Quintin Sahratian

Curator

quintin.sahratian@utah.edu

801-581-7209

Karrah Spendlove

Student Researcher

u1254105@utah.edu 

 

Le Wan

CEMI  Research Scientist

le.wan@utah.edu

801-585-0540

 

GRADUATE  STUDENTS

(updated January 2021)

 
FIRST LAST EMAIL FACULTY ADVISOR

Alysha

Armstrong

u1072028@utah.edu Koper, Keith

Claire

Atlas

claire.atlas@utah.edu Johnson, Cari

Paige

Austin

paige.austin@utah.edu G Bowen

Carl J.

Beno

jbeno@egi.utah.edu Bowman, John

Jeremiah

Bernau

u1147015@utah.edu Bowen, Brenda

Erin 

Bessette-Kirton

erin.bessette.kirton@utah.edu Moore, Jeffery

Tylor

Birthisel

tbirthisel@nhmu.utah.edu Irmis, Randall

Benjamin

Breeden

b.breeden@utah.edu Irmis, Randall

Erin 

Brinkman

erin.brinkman@utah.edu Johnson, Bill

Samantha

Couper

samantha.couper@utah.edu Miyagi, Lowell

Emily 

Cunningham

u1350899@utah.edu Lambart, Sarah

Chad

Dodge

chad.dodge@utah.edu Lambart, Sarah

Casey

Duncan

casey.j.duncan@utah.edu Chan, Marjorie

Tolunay

Ersen

u1302134@utah.edu  Zhdanov, Michael

Hannah 

Finley

hfinley13@gmail.com  Johnson, Bill

Riley

Finnegan

riley.finnegan@utah.edu Koper, Keith

Brenden

Fischer-Femal

b.fischerfemal@utah.edu Bowen, Gabriel

Nick

Forbes

u0875540@utah.edu Koper, Keith

Paul

Geimer

paul.geimer@utah.edu Moore, Jeffery

Konstantinos

Gkogkas

u1249039@utah.edu Lin, Fan-Chi

Brent

Greenhalgh

brent.greenhalgh@gmail.com  Johnson, Cari

Hannah

Hartley

hannah.hartley@utah.edu Johnson, Cari

Nicholas

Hebdon

nicholas.hebdon@utah.edu Ritterbush, Kathleen

Scott

Hill

s.hill@m.cc.utah.edu Petersen, Erich

Monique

Holt

u1174394@utah.edu  Koper, Keith

Eric

Humphrey

c.humphrey@utah.edu Solomon, Kip

Clay

Jones

cjones@egi.utah.edu  Bowman, John

Santiago

Jurado Mora

Ingsantiago.jurado@gmail.com  Johnson, Bill

Chantelle

Kiessner

c.kiessner@utah.edu  Miyagi, Lowell

Evan

Kipnis

evan.kipnis@utah.edu Bowen, Brenda

Otto

Lang

u1264129@utah.edu Lambart, Sarah

Jory

Lerback

jory.lerback@utah.edu Bowen, Brenda

Sam

Lopez

u1214936@utah.edu  Johnson, William

Casey

Meirovitz

cmeirovitz@gmail.com Stright, Lisa

Kevin

Mendoza

kevin.mendoza@utah.edu Bartley, John

Raul

Ochoa

u0715540@utah.edu Birgenheier, Lauren

Guanning

Pang

g.pang@utah.edu Koper, Keith

Santiago

Rabade Garcia

san.rabade@utah.edu Lin, Fan-Chi

Mark

Radwin

mark.radwin@utah.edu Bowen, Brenda

Grant

Rea-Downing

grant.readowning@utah.edu  Lippert, Peter

Ellen

Reat

ellen.reat@utah.edu  Johnson, Cari

Nicole

Rinaldi

u1205895@utah.edu Cerling, Thure

Cesar

Ron

cesar.ron@utah.edu Johnson, William

Francesca

Spencer

f.spencer@utah.edu Bowen, Gabriel

Gabriela

St. Pierre

u0948717@utah.edu Johnson, Cari

Mo

Tao

u1147630@utah.edu Zhdanov, Michael

Cheng

Tarng

u1213258@utah.edu Fernandez, Diego

Courtney

Wagner

courtney.wagner@utah.edu  Lippert, Peter

Yadong

Wang

Yadong.Wang@utah.edu Lin, Fan-Chi

Daniel

Wells

u0770911@utah.edu Pankow, Kris

Zackery

Wistort

z.wistort@utah.edu Ritterbush, Kathleen

Meg

Wolf

u1194912@utah.edu Brooks, Paul

Jacob

Wright

u1056708@utah.edu Johnson, Bill

Qicheng

Zeng

qicheng.zeng@utah.edu Lin, Fan-Chi

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Last Updated: 3/3/21