Skip to content

Main Navigation

Department of Geology and Geophysics Directory

Visitors coming to campus, please check in at room 383 in FASB so we may assist you in locating any department personnal who you are meeting with.

 

Department Administration - Room 383 FASB

 

thure Department Chair

 Thure E. Cerling

 Office Phone: (801) 585-6656

 Email: thure.cerling@utah.edu

 

 


Administrative Assistant

Thea Hatfield

Office Phone: (801) 581-7062

Email:  thea.hatfield@utah.edu

 


Academic Advisor

Michelle Tuitupou

Office Phone: (801) 581-6553

Email: michelle.tuitupou@utah.edu

 


Accountant

Steve Rondina

Office Phone: (801) 585-6652

Email: steve.rondina@utah.edu


Administrative Program Coordinator

Shanna Futral

Office Phone: (801) 581-7162

Email: shanna.futral@utah.edu


Student Office Assistants

Kayleigh Kirkpatrick

Office Phone: (801) 585-7431

Email:  u1148394@gcloud.utah.edu

 

Paul Eubanks

Office Phone: (801) 585-7431

Email: paul.eubanks@utah.edu

 

Academic Faculty

Dr. B

Dr. John Bartley

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-1670

john.bartley@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Structural Geology

Tectonics

Igneous Petrology

lauren

Dr. Lauren Birgenheier

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-3158

lauren.birgenheier@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Sedimentology

Stratigraphy

Petroleum Geology

Unconventional Resources

Paleoclimate

Website

Dr. B

Dr. Brenda Bowen

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building  (FASB)

801-585-5326

brenda.bowen@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Global Change and Sustainability

Fluid-Sediment Interactions

Surface Processes in Extreme Environments

Sedimentary Geochemistry

CO2 Sequestration

Human Impacts on Environment

Interdisciplinary STEM Ed.

Dr. B 

Dr. Gabe Bowen

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-7925

gabe.bowen@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Isotope Geochemistry

Paleoclimate

Carbon Cycle

Water Cycle

Forensic Ecology

Website

 Dr. B

Dr. John Bowman

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-7250

john.bowman@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Isotope Geology

Metamorphic Petrology

 Dr. B

Dr. Paul Brooks

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-2858

paul.brooks@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Hydrology

Biogeochemistry

Snow

Climate

Water Resources

Hydrochemistry

Dr. B

Dr. Thure Cerling

Distinguished Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-5558

thure.cerling@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Environmental Geochemistry

Mammal Physiology

Isotope Geochemistry

Isotope Ecology

Website

 Dr. C

Dr. Marjorie Chan

Distinguished Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-6551

marjorie.chan@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Sedimentary Geology

Website

Dinter 

Dr. David Dinter

Professor Lecture

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-7937

david.dinter@utah.edu

 Holly

Dr. Holly Godsey

Assistant Professor Lecture

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-587-7865

holly.godsey@utah.edu

Dr I

Dr. Randall Irmis

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-6555/801-585-0561

randall.irmis@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Continental Vertebrate Ecosystems

Paleoecology and Taphonomic Processes

Dr J

Dr. Paul Jewell

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-6636

paul.jewell@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Surface Processes

Hydrology

Website

 

 

Dr J

Dr. Cari Johnson

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-3782

cari.johnson@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Basin Analysis

Sedimentology and Stratigraphy

Energy Geoscience

Website

Dr J

Dr. William (Bill) Johnson

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-5033

william.johnson@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Subsurface and Aquatic Contaminant/Colloid Fate and Transport

Website


 

 

Keith

Dr. Keith Koper

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-3669

keith.koper@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Array Seismology

Earth's ambient seismic noise field

Forensic seismology and exotic sources

Rupture imaging of giant earthquakes

Seismicity and tectonivs of the intermountain West

Structure and dynamics of Earth's deep interior especially the core

Website

sarah

Dr. Sarah Lambart

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-9797

sarah.lambart@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Experimental Petrology

Geochemistry

Magma Genesis

Magma & Fluid - Rock Interactions

Website

  Dr L

Dr. Mark Loewen

Associate Professor Lecturer

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-891-6036

mloewen@utah.edu

Research Interests:

 Natural History Museum of Utah

Vertibrate Paleontology

Jurassic & Cretaceous Dinosaurs

  Dr L

Dr. Fan-Chi Lin

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-4373

fanchi.lin@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Seismology

Geophysics

Website

 Dr L

Dr. Peter Lippert

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-4599

pete.lippert@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Continental Tectonics

Orogenic Systems

Surface Process Responses to Threshold Climate Events

Biomagnetism

Paleomagnetism and Rock & Mineral Magnetism

Website

 Dr M

Dr. Lowell Miyagi

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-6619

lowell.miyagi@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Texture and Anisotropy Development Under High Pressure and Temperature Conditions

Website

 Dr M

Dr. Jeffrey Moore

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-0491

jeff.moore@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Geohazards

Geomorphology

Geomechanics

Geophysics

Website

 Dr N

Dr. Barbara Nash

Emeritus Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-8587

barb.nash@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Igneous Petrology

Mineralogy

Electron Microprobe Analysis

Website

 Dr P

Dr. Erich Petersen

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-7238

erich.petersen@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Economic Geology

Mineralogy

Geochemistry

Environment

Dr R

Dr. Kathleen Ritterbush

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-587-8846

k.ritterbush@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Marine Paleoecology

Mass Extinctions

Ecological Transitions

Biomineralization and Biogeochemical Cycling

Animal Form and Funcation

Evolution

Dr S

Dr. Kip Solomon

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-7231

kip.solomon@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Isotopes of Noble Gases, especially 3He and 4He

Groundwater Hydrology

Dr T

Dr. Michael Thorne

 

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-9792

michael.thorne@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Global Seismic Structure

Core Mantle Boundary Layer Structure

Volcano Seismology

Website

 DR Z

Dr. Michael Zhdanov

Distinguished Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-7750

michael.zhdanov@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Theoretical and Applied Geophysics

Inversion Theory

Electromagnetic Methods

Website

Research Faculty

 

Amir Allam

Title: Research Asisstant Professor Phone: (801)581-6820 Email: amir.allam@utah.edu
 

Diego Fernandez

Title: Research Associate Professor Phone: (801) 587-9366 Email: diego.fernandez@utah.edu
 

Jamie Farrell

Title: Research Assistant Professor Phone: (801)581-7856

Email: jamie.farrell@utah.edu

 

 

Richard Fiorella

Title:  Research Assistant Professor Phone:  (801)581-7062

Email:  rich.fiorella@utah.edu

 

 

Alex Gribenko

Title: Research Assistant Professor Phone: (801) 585-7071 Email: alex.gribenko@utah.edu
 

Marie D.  Jackson

Title: Research Associate Professor Phone:  (928) 853-7967

Email: m.d.jackson@utah.edu

Website

 

James M. Karner

Title: Research Associate Professor Phone: (801) 585-5976 Email: j.karner@utah.edu
 

Huilian Ma

Title: Research Assistant Professor Phone: (801) 585-5976 Email: huilian.ma@utah.edu
 

Scott R. Miller

Title: Research Assistant Professor Phone: (801)581-6217 Email: scott.r.miller@utah.edu
 

Kris Pankow

Title: Research Associate Professor Phone: (801) 585-6484 Email: pankow@seis.utah.edu
 

James Pechmann

Title: Research Associate Professor Phone: (801) 581-3858 Email: pechmann@seis.utah.edu

 

 

Affiliated Faculty

David Applegate

applegate@usgs.gov

Lukas Baumgartner

lukas.baumgartner@unil.ch

Harley M Benz

 benz@usgs.gov

John O. D. Byrd

 jodbyrd@gmail.com

 Nancy Carpenter

nancycarpenterdvm@yahoo.com

 Suvankar Chakraborti

 suvankar.chakraborty@utah.edu

John B Comer

jcomer@indiana.edu

Martin Cuma

 m.Cuma@utah.edu

James R Ehleringer

jim.ehleringer@utah.edu

Anke Maria Friedrich

friedrich@lmu.de

 Erica Gaddis

erica.gaddis@gmail.com

John M Harris

 jharris@bef.usc.edu

 Scott Hynek

scott.hynek@gmail.com

James Ian Kirkland

jameskirkland@utah.gov

 Fredrick Kyalo Manthi

fredrickmanthi@yahoo.com

Donald D Miller

driftwood1050@gmail.com

 Joseph N Moore

jmoore@egi.utah.edu

 Desmond E Moser

desmond.moser@uwo.ca

 Charles Oviatt

joviatt@ksu.edu

 Sasha Carey Reed

screed@usgs.gov

Gerard Schuster

gerard.schuster@kaust.edu.sa

 Daniel D B. Seely

dans@igesinc.com

Stuart Simmons

 ssimmons@egi.utah.edu

 Virginia B Sisson

j_sisson@netzero.net

 Lisa Elizabeth Stright

 Lisa.Stright@Colostate.EDU

 Philip E Wannamaker

pewanna@egi.utah.edu

 Anton Wroblewski

 afranzjosef@gmail.com

 Michael Stearns

michael.stearns@utah.edu

 Shu Jiang

sjiang@egi.utah.edu

 Sudeep Kanungo

skanungo@egi.utah.edu

 Rasoul Sorkhabi

rsorkhabi@egi.utah.edu

 

Emeritus Faculty

Emeritus Faculty is a title conferred by The University of Utah for the purpose of recognizing the meritorious service of a faculty member upon or after retirement.  Appointments to emeritus status for retired faculty members are made by the Board of Trustees on recommendation of the President of the University and the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs.

Walter J. Arabasz

Phone: (801) 581-7410 Email: arabasz@seis.utah.edu

Ronald Bruhn

  Email: ron.bruhn@utah.edu

David S. Chapman

  Email: david.chapman@utah.edu

Allan A. (Tony) Ekdale

  Email: a.ekdale@utah.edu

Sue Halgedahl

  Email: s.halgedahl@utah.edu

William Parry

Phone: (801) 581-6217 Email: w.parry@utah.edu

Dane Picard

  Email: dane.picard@utah.edu

Robert B. Smith

Phone: (801) 581-7129 Email: robert.b.smith@utah.edu

 

Postdocs

Lindsey Nesbitt 

lindseychr@gmail.com

Sarah Magozzi 

sarah.magozzi@utah.edu

Scott T. Allen 

scott.t.allen@utah.edu

Surya Pachhai 

surya.pachhai@utah.edu

Jessica Guo 

u1297807@utah.edu

Xiaoling Zhou 

xiaolingzhou@lbl.gov

Xiaonan Tai 

xiaonan.tai@utah.edu

Nanfei Cheng

n.cheng@utah.edu

Lab Personnel, Researchers, & Curator

Chris Anderson

Senior Laboratory Specialist

christopher.r.anderson@utah.edu

801-587-5666

Sagarika Banerjee

Lab Technician

sagarika1005@yahoo.com.co.in

801-585-5596

Will Mace

Research Manager

wil.mace@utah.edu

801-585-5214

Bradley Munk

Lab Technician

brad.munk@gmail.com

801-581-7062

Alan Rigby

Research Manager

alan.rigby@utah.edu

801-587-5666

Quintin Sahratian

Curator

quintin.sahratian@utah.edu

801-581-7209

Le Wan

CEMI  Research Scientist

le.wan@utah.edu

801-585-0540

 

 GRADUATE  STUDENTS

Casey

Duncan

casey.j.duncan@utah.edu

Casey

Meirovitz

cmeirovitz@gmail.com

Catherine

Valery

catherine.valery@utah.edu

Cesar

Ron

cesar.ron@utah.edu

Cheng

Tarng

u1213258@utah.edu

Claire

Atlas

claire.atlas@utah.edu

Clay

Jones

cjones@egi.utah.edu

Courtney

Wagner

courtney.wagner@utah.edu

Daniel

Wells

u0770911@utah.edu

Elizabeth

Berg

e.m.berg@utah.edu

Ellen

Reat

ellen.reat@utah.edu

Eric

Humphrey

humphrey.c.eric@gmail.com

Erin

Bessette-Kirton

erin.bessette.kirton@utah.edu

Evan

Kipnis

evan.kipnis@utah.edu

Feng

Lin

feng.lin@utah.edu

Gabriela

St. Pierre

u0948717@utah.edu

Glen

Mackey

glen.mackey@gmail.com

Grant

Rea-Downing

grant.readowning@utah.edu

Guanning

Pang

g.pang@utah.edu

Hannah

Hartley

hannah.hartley@utah.edu

Jacob

Wright

u1056708@utah.edu

Jens

Ammon

u0525962@utah.edu

Jeremiah

Bernau

u1147015@utah.edu

Jory

Lerback

jory.lerback@utah.edu

Joshua

Marquardt

joshua.marquardt@utah.edu

Ke

Li

u0884302@utah.edu

Keegan

Melstrom

u0866348@utah.edu

Kendall

Fitzgerald

kendall.fitzgerald@utah.edu

Kevin

Mendoza

kevin.mendoza@utah.edu

Konstantinos

Gkogkas

u1249039@utah.edu

Logan

Jamison

u0587389@utah.edu

Mallory

Millington

mallory.millington@utah.edu

Margaret

Wolf

u1194912@utah.edu

Michael

Jorgensen

mike.jorgensen@utah.edu

Mo

Tao

tmye1010@gmail.com

Monique

Scales (Holt)

u1174394@utah.edu

Muran

Han

u0702580@utah.edu

Nicholas

Hebdon

nicholas.hebdon@utah.edu

Nick

Forbes

nicholasforbes95@gmail.com

Nicole

Rinaldi

u1205895@utah.edu

Otto

Lang

ottoian13@gmail.com

Paul

Geimer

paul.geimer@utah.edu

Peter

Maxeiner

maxeinerp@optonline.net

Raul

Ochoa

u0715540@utah.edu

Riley

Finnegan

riley.finnegan@utah.edu

Robin

Fults

rfults@egi.utah.edu

Sam

Lopez

u1214936@utah.edu

Samantha

Couper

samantha.couper@utah.edu

Santiago

Rabade Garcia

san.rabade@utah.edu

Scott

Hill

s.hill@m.cc.utah.edu

Seana

Hood

s.hood@utah.edu

Sin-Mei

Wu

sinmei.wu@utah.edu

Tylor

Birthisel

tbirthisel@nhmu.utah.edu

Xiaolei

Tu

u0986320@utah.edu

Yadong

Wang

Yadong.Wang@utah.edu

Zackery

Wistort

z.wistort@utah.edu

 
Last Updated: 1/15/20