Skip to content

Department of Geology and Geophysics Directory

Visitors coming to campus, please check in at room 383 in FASB so we may assist you in locating any department personnal who you are meeting with.

Related Directories

 

Department Administration - Room 383 FASB

(updated Summer 2020)

thure

Dr. Thure Cerling

Chair
(801) 585-6656
 thure.cerling@utah.edu  

 

Dr. B

Dr. Brenda Bowen

Associate Chair
801-585-5326
brenda.bowen@utah.edu

 


Geology and Geophysics Office Staff

staff photo

Department Administrative Manager

Shanna Futral

(801) 581-7162

shanna.futral@utah.edu

Responsibilities: Office and Staff Management, Assistant to the Chair, Faculty Relations (Reviews, Appointments, Hiring, Meetings, Committees, etc.), Visiting Scholars, Alumi Relations and Development Assistance, Open House, Awards Banquet, and Other Events.


Office Administrator

Thea Hatfield

(801) 581-7062

thea.hatfield@utah.edu 

Responsibilities: Human Resources, Insurance, Tuition Benefit, TAs/RAs/GAs, Post Docs, Payroll, Accounts Payable, Lab and Office Purchasing, Key Requests, Course Scheduling, Room Reservations.


Academic Advisor (CMES Director of Student Success)

Michelle Tuitupou

(801) 581-6553

michelle.tuitupou@utah.edu 

Responsibilities: Advising, Student Recruitment and Outreach, Student Orientation, Scholarships, Curriculum, Graduation/Convocations, Accreditation, and Department Newsletters.


Accountant

Jamee Lefler

(801) 585-6652

jamee.lefler@utah.edu 

Responsibilities: Account Management (Set-up, Reconciliation, and Review), Recharge Centers Billing, P-Cards, Billing, EPRs/Electonic Payment Requests, Student Travel Grants, Department Budget


Field, Lab, & Research Managers

Wil Mace

(801) 860-0383

 wil.mace@utah.edu

Responsibilities: Safety, Lab Management, Vehicle Maintenance, Sutton Building Facilities Coordinator, Building Access, and Website.

 

Alan Rigby

(801) 585-5461

alan.rigby@utah.edu

Responsibilities: Department Vehicle Rentals; Non-Employee, Affiliate, Undergrad Travel Facilitation; Group Field Trip Assistance; Catering; Outreach Assistance; Room Reservations; Dept Swag/Merchandise; and Assist with Collection Management (including "Halls & Walls"). 

 


Student Office Assistants

Kayleigh Kirkpatrick

(801) 585-7431

u1148394@gcloud.utah.edu

Responsibilities:  Graphic Design, Concur Travel, Distinguished Lecture Series.

 

Paul Eubanks

(801) 585-7431

paul.eubanks@utah.edu

Responsibilities: Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Website, Intranet, Bulletin Boards, Mail & Packages, and Locker Rentals.

Academic Faculty

(updated Summer 2020)

Dr. B

Dr. John Bartley

Retired Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-1670

john.bartley@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Structural Geology

Tectonics

Igneous Petrology

lauren

Dr. Lauren Birgenheier

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-3158

lauren.birgenheier@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Sedimentology

Stratigraphy

Petroleum Geology

Unconventional Resources

Paleoclimate

Website

Dr. B

Dr. Brenda Bowen

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building  (FASB)

801-585-5326

brenda.bowen@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Global Change and Sustainability

Fluid-Sediment Interactions

Surface Processes in Extreme Environments

Sedimentary Geochemistry

CO2 Sequestration

Human Impacts on Environment

Interdisciplinary STEM Ed.

Dr. B 

Dr. Gabe Bowen

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-7925

gabe.bowen@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Isotope Geochemistry

Paleoclimate

Carbon Cycle

Water Cycle

Forensic Ecology

Website

 Dr. B

Dr. John Bowman

Retired Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-7250

john.bowman@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Isotope Geology

Metamorphic Petrology

 Dr. B

Dr. Paul Brooks

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-2858

paul.brooks@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Hydrology

Biogeochemistry

Snow

Climate

Water Resources

Hydrochemistry

Dr. B

Dr. Thure Cerling

Distinguished Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-5558

thure.cerling@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Environmental Geochemistry

Mammal Physiology

Isotope Geochemistry

Isotope Ecology

Website

 Dr. C

Dr. Marjorie Chan

Distinguished Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-6551

marjorie.chan@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Sedimentary Geology

Website

Dinter 

Dr. David Dinter

Professor Lecturer

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-7937

david.dinter@utah.edu

 Holly

Dr. Holly Godsey

Associate  Professor Lecturer

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-587-7865

holly.godsey@utah.edu

Dr I

Dr. Randall Irmis

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Natural History Museum of Utah (NHMU)

801-581-6555/801-585-0561

irmis@umnh.utah.edu 

Research Interests:

Continental Vertebrate Ecosystems

Paleoecology and Taphonomic Processes

Dr J

Dr. Paul Jewell

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-6636

paul.jewell@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Surface Processes

Hydrology

Website

 

 

Dr J

Dr. Cari Johnson

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-3782

cari.johnson@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Basin Analysis

Sedimentology and Stratigraphy

Energy Geoscience

Website

Dr J

Dr. William (Bill) Johnson

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-5033

william.johnson@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Subsurface and Aquatic Contaminant/Colloid Fate and Transport

Website


 

 

Keith

Dr. Keith Koper

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-3669

keith.koper@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Array Seismology

Earth's ambient seismic noise field

Forensic seismology and exotic sources

Rupture imaging of giant earthquakes

Seismicity and tectonics of the intermountain West

Structure and dynamics of Earth's deep interior especially the core

Website

sarah

Dr. Sarah Lambart

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-6797

sarah.lambart@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Experimental Petrology

Geochemistry

Magma Genesis

Magma & Fluid - Rock Interactions

Website

  Dr L

Dr. Mark Loewen

Associate Professor Lecturer

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Natural History Museum of Utah (NHMU)

801-891-6036

mloewen@utah.edu

Research Interests:

 Natural History Museum of Utah

Vertebrate Paleontology

Jurassic & Cretaceous Dinosaurs

  Dr L

Dr. Fan-Chi Lin

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-4373

fanchi.lin@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Seismology

Geophysics

Website

 Dr L

Dr. Peter Lippert

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-4599

pete.lippert@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Continental Tectonics

Orogenic Systems

Surface Process Responses to Threshold Climate Events

Biomagnetism

Paleomagnetism and Rock & Mineral Magnetism

Website

 Dr M

Dr. Lowell Miyagi

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-6619

lowell.miyagi@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Texture and Anisotropy Development Under High Pressure and Temperature Conditions

Website

 Dr M

Dr. Jeffrey Moore

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-0491

jeff.moore@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Geohazards

Geomorphology

Geomechanics

Geophysics

Website

 

Dr P

Dr. Erich Petersen

Retired Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-7238

erich.petersen@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Economic Geology

Mineralogy

Geochemistry

Environment

 

Dr R

Dr. Kathleen Ritterbush

Assistant Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-587-8846

k.ritterbush@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Marine Paleoecology

Mass Extinctions

Ecological Transitions

Biomineralization and Biogeochemical Cycling

Animal Form and Funcation

Evolution

 

 

Dr S

Dr. Kip Solomon

Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-7231

kip.solomon@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Noble Gas Isotope Geochemistry

Groundwater Age Dating

Groundwater Hydrology

 

 

Dr T 

Dr. Michael Thorne

Associate Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-585-9792

michael.thorne@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Global Seismic Structure

Core Mantle Boundary Layer Structure

Volcano Seismology

Website

 

Tonie VanDam

 

Dr. Tonie van Dam

Professor

 Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

Phone TBA

Email TBA

Research Interests:

Geodesy TBA

 

 DR Z

Dr. Michael Zhdanov

Distinguished Professor

Fredrick Albert Sutton Building (FASB)

801-581-7750

michael.zhdanov@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Theoretical and Applied Geophysics

Inversion Theory

Electromagnetic Methods

Website

Research Faculty

(updated July 2021)

Dr. Amir Allam

Research Assistant Professor (801)581-6820 amir.allam@utah.edu

Dr. Leif Anderson

Research Assistant Professor (801)587-5666 leif.anderson@utah.edu 

Dr. Jamie Farrell

Research Assistant Professor (801)581-7856 jamie.farrell@utah.edu

Dr. Diego Fernandez

Research Professor (801)587-9366 diego.fernandez@utah.edu

Dr. Richard Fiorella

Research Assistant Professor (801)581-7062

rich.fiorella@utah.edu

 

Dr. Marie D.  Jackson

Research Associate Professor (928)853-7967

m.d.jackson@utah.edu

Website

Dr. James M. Karner

Research Associate Professor (801)585-5976 j.karner@utah.edu

Dr. Huilian Ma

Research Associate Professor/Volunteer Faculty (801)585-5976 huilian.ma@utah.edu

Dr. Scott R. Miller

Research Assistant Professor (801)581-6217 scott.r.miller@utah.edu

Dr. Kris Pankow

Research Professor (801)585-6484 pankow@seis.utah.edu

Dr. James Pechmann

Research Associate Professor (801)581-3858 pechmann@seis.utah.edu

 

Adjunct Faculty

 (updated Summer 2020)

David Applegate

Adjunct Professor applegate@usgs.gov

Lukas Baumgartner

Adjunct Professor lukas.baumgartner@unil.ch

Harley Benz

Adjunct Professor benz@usgs.gov

John O.D. Byrd

Adjunct Professor  jodbyrd@gmail.com

Nancy Carpenter

Adjunct Assistant Professor nancycarpenterdvm@yahoo.com

Suvankar Chakraborti

Adjunct Assistant Professor  suvankar.chakraborty@utah.edu

John B. Comer

Adjunct Professor jcomer@indiana.edu

Martin Cuma

Adjunct Assistant Professor  m.Cuma@utah.edu

James R. Ehleringer

Adjunct Professor jim.ehleringer@utah.edu

Anke Maria Friedrich

Adjunct Professor friedrich@lmu.de

Erica Gaddis

Adjunct Associate Professor  erica.gaddis@gmail.com

John M. Harris

Adjunct Professor  jharris@bef.usc.edu

Scott Hynek

Adjunct Associate Professor scott.hynek@gmail.com

Shu Jiang

Adjunct Associate Professor sjiang@egi.utah.edu

Stephanie Mills

Adjunct Assistant Professor smills@utah.gov 

Sudeep Kanungo

Adjunct Associate Professor  skanungo@egi.utah.edu

James Ian Kirkland

Adjunct Associate Professor jameskirkland@utah.gov

Frederick Kyalo Manthi

Adjunct Assistant Professor fredrickmanthi@yahoo.com

Donald D. Miller

Adjunct Professor driftwood1050@gmail.com

Joseph N. Moore

Adjunct Professor jmoore@egi.utah.edu

Desmond E. Moser

Adjunct Assistant Professor desmond.moser@uwo.ca

Charles Oviatt

Adjunct Professor joviatt@ksu.edu

Sasha Carey Reed

Adjunct Assistant Professor screed@usgs.gov

Gerard Schuster

Adjunct Professor gerard.schuster@kaust.edu.sa

Daniel D.B. Seely

Adjunct Assistant Professor dans@igesinc.com

Stuart Simmons

Adjunct Professor ssimmons@egi.utah.edu

Virginia B. Sisson

Adjunct Associate Professor j_sisson@netzero.net

Rasoul Sorkhabi

Adjunct Professor rsorkhabi@egi.utah.edu

Michael Andrew Stearns

Adjunct Assistant Professor michael.stearns@utah.edu

Lisa Elizabeth Stright

Adjunct Assistant Professor lisa.stright@colostate.edu

Philip E. Wannamaker

Adjunct Professor pewanna@egi.utah.edu

Anton Wrobleski

 

Adjunct Associate Professor  afranzjosef@gmail.com

Emeritus & Retired Faculty

(updated Summer 2021)

Walter J. Arabasz

(801) 581-7410 arabasz@seis.utah.edu

John Bartley

  john.bartley@utah.edu 

John Bowman

  john.bowman@utah.edu 

Ronald Bruhn

  ron.bruhn@utah.edu 

David S. Chapman

  david.chapman@utah.edu

Allan A. (Tony) Ekdale

  a.ekdale@utah.edu

Sue Halgedahl

  s.halgedahl@utah.edu

Barbara (Barb) Nash

  barb.nash@utah.edu

William Parry

(801) 581-6217 w.parry@utah.edu

Erich Petersen

  erich.petersen@utah.edu 

Robert B. Smith

(801) 581-7129 robert.b.smith@utah.edu

 

Postdocs & Visiting Scholars

(updated July 2021) 

NAME

POSITION

EMAIL

HOST FACULTY

Alejandro Serna

Post Doc  u1170644@utah.edu

 G Bowen

David Peterman

Post Doc peterman.10@wright.edu

Ritterbush

Deming Yang

Post Doc u1038724@utah.edu G Bowen

Emma Morris

Post Doc emma.morris@utah.edu C Johnson

Hao Zhang

Post Doc u0149900@utah.edu Pankow

Kristen Verostick

Post Doc u6034376@utah.edu G Bowen

Rolf Kipfer

Visiting Scholar kipfer@eawag.ch Solomon

Shuang Zhang

Visiting Scholar zhangshuang_geo@hotmail.com Zhdanov

Sin-Mei Wu

Post Doc sinmei.wu@utah.edu Farrell

Surya Pachhia

Post Doc surya.pachhai@utah.edu Thorne

Susana Henriquez

Post Doc susana.shg@gmail.com C Johnson & Lippert

Lab Personnel, Researchers, & Curator

(updated Summer 2020)

Christopher Anderson

Senior Laboratory Specialist

christopher.r.anderson@utah.edu

801-587-5666

Sagarika Banerjee

Lab Technician

sagarika1005@yahoo.com.co.in

801-585-5596

Stephannie Covarrubias

Research Associate

stephannie_cova@hotmail.com

 

Logan Jamison

Research Analyst

u0587389@utah.edu 

 

Wil Mace

Research Manager

wil.mace@utah.edu

801-585-5214

Bradley Munk

Lab Technician

brad.munk@gmail.com

801-581-7062

Jacob Peterson 

Research Associate

u0881969@utah.edu 

 

Alan Rigby

Research Manager

alan.rigby@utah.edu

 

Quintin Sahratian

Curator

quintin.sahratian@utah.edu

801-581-7209

Le Wan

CEMI  Research Scientist

le.wan@utah.edu

801-585-0540

 

Graduate  Students

(updated October 2021)

Alysha

Armstrong

Koper, Keith

u1072028@utah.edu

Ashley

Morris

Lambart, Sarah

u1373708@utah.edu 

Baylee

Olds

Brooks, Paul

baolds@sa.utah.edu 

Brent

Greenhalgh

Johnson, Cari

brent.greenhalgh@utah.edu

Carl

Beno

Bowman, John

jbeno@egi.utah.edu

Casey

Meirovitz

Stright, Lisa

u0683295@utah.edu

Casey

Duncan

Chan, Marjorie

casey.j.duncan@utah.edu

Chantelle

Kiessner

Miyagi, Lowell

c.kiessner@utah.edu 

Cheng-Nan

Liu

Lin, Fan-Chi

u1372289@utah.edu 

Claire

Atlas

Johnson, Cari

claire.atlas@utah.edu

Clay

Jones

Bowman, John

cjones@egi.utah.edu 

Daniel

Wells

Pankow, Kris

u0770911@utah.edu

Ellen

(Reat) Wersan

Johnson, Cari

ellen.reat@utah.edu 

Emily

Cunningham

Lambart, Sarah

u1350899@utah.edu

Eric

Humphrey

Solomon, Kip

c.humphrey@utah.edu

Erin

Brinkman

Johnson, William

erin.brinkman@utah.edu

Erin

Bessette-Kirton

Moore, Jeffery

erin.bessette.kirton@utah.edu

Francesca

Spencer

Bowen, Gabriel

f.spencer@utah.edu 

Grant

Rea-Downing

Lippert, Peter

grant.readowning@utah.edu 

Hannah

Hartley

Johnson, Cari

hannah.hartley@utah.edu

Hannah

Finley

Johnson, William

u1154880@utah.edu

Ivan

Gaichuk

Johnson, William

u1046657@utah.edu

Jeremiah

Bernau

Bowen, Brenda

u1147015@utah.edu

Justin

Tully

Johnson, Cari

u1377748@utah.edu 

Kevin

Mendoza

Bartley, John

kevin.mendoza@utah.edu

Konstantinos

Gkogkas

Lin, Fan-Chi

u1249039@utah.edu

Kyle

Brennan

Bowen, Gabriel

u0549548@utah.edu 

Mark

Radwin

Bowen, Brenda

mark.radwin@utah.edu 

Meg

Wolf

Brooks, Paul

u1194912@utah.edu

Mikelia

Heberer

Ritterbush, Kathleen

u1372915@utah.edu 

Mo

Tao

Zhdanov, Michael

u1147630@utah.edu

Nick

Hebdon

Ritterbush, Kathleen

nicholas.hebdon@utah.edu

Paige

Austin

Bowen, Gabriel

paige.austin@utah.edu

Patrick

Bradshaw

Pankow, Kris

u1373729@utah.edu 

Qicheng

Zeng

Lin, Fan-Chi

qicheng.zeng@utah.edu

Raul

Ochoa

Birgenheier, Lauren

u0715540@utah.edu

Riley

Finnegan

Moore, Jeffery

riley.finnegan@utah.edu

Sam

Lopez

Johnson, William

u1214936@utah.edu 

Santiago

Rabade Garcia

Lin, Fan-Chi

san.rabade@utah.edu

Santiago

Jurado Mora

Johnson, William

Ingsantiago.jurado@gmail.com

Scott

Hill

Petersen, Erich

s.hill@m.cc.utah.edu

Sean

Hutchings

Koper, Keith

u0772592@utah.edu 

Theresa (Tessa)

Czech

Farrel, Jamie

u1373645@utah.edu 

Tolunay

Ersen

Zhdanov, Michael

u1302134@utah.edu 

Tylor

Birthisel

Irmis, Randall

tbirthisel@nhmu.utah.edu

Yadong

Wang

Lin, Fan-Chi

Yadong.Wang@utah.edu

Zackery

Wistort

Ritterbush, Kathleen

z.wistort@utah.edu

 
 
Last Updated: 11/11/21