Skip to content

Main Navigation

Department of Geology & Geophysics - Student Groups


American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG)

The Student Chapter Program of AAPG is made up of collegiate groups of geoscience students and one of the world's foremost co-educational programs within the geoscience sector with over 245 chapters. It provides students the opportunity to develop leadership skills and serves as a focal point for developing a feeling of professionalism through meeting industry representatives (

2019-2020 Academic School Year

President Emeritus:  Ellen Reat,

President:  Catherine Valery,

Vice President:  Robin Fults,

Secretary:  Hannah Hartley,

Treasurer:   Claire Atlas, & Zachery Wistort,

Field Trip Coordinator:  Ellen Reat,

Faculty Advisor:  Cari Johnson,



Association of Environmental & Engineering Geologists (AEG)

AEG is the acknowledged international leader in environmental and engineering geology, and is greatly respected for its stewardship of the profession. AEG offers information on environmental and engineering geology useful to practitioners, scientists, students, and the public. Other geosciences organizations recognize the value of using and sharing AEG's outstanding resources.  AEG leads the profession in its advocacy for: Legislation, Professional Licensure, Regulation, Codes and Standards as each affects the practice of applied geosciences (

To join AEG for free as a student member, download the membership application form and follow the instructions listed.

2018-2019 Academic School Year

At this time AEG is not currently active but will be active at a later date please be patient with us during this time that this group is not active.

President:  Anna Stanczyk,

Vice President:  Kate Nicponski,

Treasurer:  Andrea Chica,

Field Trip Chair:  Joe Potter,

Faculty Advisor:  Paul Jewell,


Society of Economic Geology (SEG)

The Society of Economic Geologists (SEG) Student Chapters seek to bring together like minded individuals interested in better understanding our resource-rich environment and the minerals it contains. The SEG encourages the formation of such Student Chapters to help promote the Society's objectives, firstly by advancing the study of mineral deposits and applying geological science to exploration, evaluation, and production, and secondly by disseminating scientific information through publications, courses, meetings and field trips. Student Chapters are the key to linking students with other students and with professional geoscientists in industry, academia, and government (


Faculty Advisor:  Eric Petersen,



GEO Club

GEO Club serves as a student government group in the Department Geology & Geophysics. GEO Club (formerly SAC) was created to provide students with more opportunities to offer input at the departmental level.  We maintain a coordinated set of missions to enhance the learning experiences of the GG student body, as well as to promote future career and educational prospects for our students:

  1. Represent undergraduate students opinions to the larger departmental community. File Retention, Promotion, and Tenure (RPT) reports for departmental faculty.
  2. Serve as liaison between both undergraduate and graduate students and departmental administration and faculty. Promote productive student involvement within the Department.
  3. Plan and carry out events designed to serve the varying needs and wants of GG students, including information, opportunities, guest speakers, etc.
  4. Sustain commitment to diversity.

We are also currently offering a mentor program  to help undergraduates in their quest to achieve their degrees.

2019-2020 Academic School Year

President/Information Officer:               Nick Hebdon,

Treasurer/Fundraising Coordinator:     TBA

Vice President/Marketing Officer:          Jeremiah Bernau,

Advisor:                                                          Shanna Futral,


Administrative Committee (RPT, Department Affairs, CMES College Council) (2020-2021)

      Marketing Committee (Advertising events for/with other clubs, Selling merchandise)

Jeremiah Bernau (Chair), Andrea Chica, Jenny Hambleton

Holiday Party Committee

Amy Record (Chair)

Open House Committee

Shanna Futral (Chair)

Riley Finnegan (Volunteers), Grant Rea-Downing (Activities/Partners),

Paul Geimer (Rock auction, Activities/Partners Assistant), Eric Humphrey

Orientation Committee (New Graduate Student camping trip)

Sam Lopez (Chair)

DLS Planning Committee (Snacks & Student Lunch with Guest Speaker)

Hannah Finley and Claire Atlas (Meet & Greet)

Jenny Hambleton (Student Lunches)

        Outreach Committee (Science Fairs, Community Events)

         Riley Finnegan (Chair), Courtney Wagner

         Social Committee (Intramurals, Coffee Hour, Geoslice, Field Trips)

         Courtney Wagner (Chair), Nick Hebdon,


Inclusive Earth logo

Inclusive Earth (IE)



We are a group in the College of Mines and Earth Sciences, dedicated to creating a professional and inclusive community within our college. Our mission statement is to encourage unity and inclusivity in the CMES community, and to facilitate constructive and respectful dialogue about safety, bias, and diversity with respect to science and engineering in both academic and industry settings. EVERYONE is welcome in this group! It is a great way to be involved with the college, and to help make a difference in the CMES community.

We provide educational workshops on microaggressions, unconcsious bias, navigating conflict etc. using resources on campus such as Career Services, Human Resources, and the Office of Inclusive Excellence. 


2019-20 Officers:

Monique Holt

Kevin Mendoza

Gabi St Pierre

Jory Lerback

Nick Hebdon

Sam Davis (Staff Advisor)

Monique Scales

Brooke Stanislawski

Last Updated: 9/1/20